Nab End, Elland | Ref N247 |
In 1830, there was an open-air meeting of Chartists and Abraham Hanson addressed the crowd.
See The Nab, Elland
Nab End, Hove Edge | Ref N2 |
See Finkhill and Nab End Quarry
Nab Hill Waggonway | Ref N374 |
The quarry was formerly part of Blackwood Common in Sowerby Township.
The waggonway is shown on the first edition OS maps, and was expanded extensively during the 19th century. The tracks are part of a public footpath and turn off into the quarry.
A farm nearby also uses the track for access.
The site is accessible by permission of the landowner.
See Ashday Rutway and Nab End Quarry, Cragg Vale
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Cant
The Nab, Ogden | Ref N112 |
Nab Royd | Ref N44 |
Nab Water | Ref N432 |
Mesolithic remains – including about 4000 flint tools – have been found here
Nabb, Rev | Ref N262 |
Callista, or The Injured Beauty, a Poem founded on fact [London 1759]
Nadin, Samuel | Ref N439 |
He was a cashier for carpet manufacturer [1871].
He married Sarah [1825-1???].
Sarah was born in London
Children:
They lived at 23 Spring Terrace, Brighouse [1871]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nagle, Benjamin Burton | Ref N589 |
He he served as a Sergeant with the 13th Hussars.
In 1854, his regiment took part in the Charge of the Light Brigade. He was awarded the Crimea Medal with clasps for Alma, Inkerman and Sebastopol, and Her Majesty's Silver Medal for long service and good conduct.
After leaving the army, he enlisted in the Second West Yorkshire Yeomanry Cavalry.
He and his wife came to live at 33 Union Street South, Halifax.
He died in Halifax Infirmary of cancer of the tongue [19th April 1876] (aged 47).
He was given a military funeral – organised by Thomas George Johnson – with a procession led by 96 members of his Militia Regiment, a firing party, and the Regimental Band in full dress.
He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 32 C]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Nahum's | Ref N150 |
Nailer, Richard the | Ref N22 |
Naillour, Richard | Ref N46 |
mine sea coal
Nairn, John | Ref N806 |
Born in Bury, Lancashire.
He lived at 2 Ash Terrace, Dyson Lane, Ripponden [1915].
During World War I, he enlisted [16th November 1915], and he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st Battalion Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment).
He died of wounds at Salonika [4th October 1916].
He was buried at Lahana Military Cemetery, Greece [Grave Ref I A 23].
He is remembered on Ripponden War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Stones Wesleyan Methodist Church, Ripponden
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Najib, Mohammed | Ref N544 |
In 1988/1989, he was Deputy Mayor of Calderdale to Mayor Joseph Kneafsey
Nalson, John | Ref N229 |
He married Unknown.
Children:
The Northowram Register records that he
died suddenly in an Alehouse at Bailey Hall, Halifax
Nalson, Robert | Ref N62 |
Miscellanea five Observationes collectaniae [1665]
Names | Ref N9990 |
Nanholme Mansion, Langfield | Ref N312 |
Nankivell, William Henry | Ref N153 |
In 1924, he married Edith Buckley in Halifax.
Children:
The couple died in Braintree
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Nanny: Mad Nanny | Ref N546 |
She had several children by several fathers
Naours: Underground City | Ref N197 |
The underground city is about 33 m below ground level and could accommodate around 3,000 people & their livestock. The whole site comprises 2 km of roads, squares, 300 rooms, three chapels, cowsheds and a bakery with ovens.
During World War I, many soldiers visited the tunnels on leave, mostly in 1916 and 1917, with about 3,200 of them, mostly from Australian & English soldiers, leaving graffiti on the walls.
Local soldiers whose graffiti have been identified include:
This & associated entries use material contributed by Laury Vandenterghem who is a member of a team educating the public about the tunnelsNapier, Rev John Russell | Ref N234 |
Son of Sarah Bateman and Richard Clay Napier of Plymouth Grove, Manchester.
Born in Preston.
He was educated at Preston, Marlborough College & Trinity College Cambridge, ordained deacon [1883], ordained priest [1884], curate of Leigh, Lancashire [1883-1886], and curate of St Paul's, Preston [1886-1890], before becoming Vicar of St Peter's Church, Walsden [1890-1906].
In 1906, he exchanged with Rev Ronald Fisher McLeod to become rector of North Fambridge, Essex [1906-1911].
On 5th January 1888, he married Mary Augusta Roe at St Mary's, Eccles.
Mary Augusta was born in Eccles, Lancashire
Children:
On 24th May 1900, he and his wife dedicated a stained glass window at St Peter's Church, Walsden in memory of his parents.
The couple died in Bexhill-on-Sea, Sussex: John [12th March 1939]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Narrow Nick Bridge, Luddendenfoot | Ref N553 |
Narrow Nick, Luddendenfoot | Ref N749 |
In the late 1800s, workers' housing was built here.
Nase End, Erringden | Ref N45 |
Nash, Alfred | Ref N301 |
He was a member of Skircoat Green United Methodist Free Chapel / a member of Central Chapel, Cleckheaton / a half-timer / worsted bobbin setter [1901] / a worsted overlooker [1911] / employed by Jesse Robinson & Son Limited.
On 8th January 1916, he married Hannah Shillitoe in Cleckheaton.
They lived in Cleckheaton [1918].
During World War I, he joined up [April 1917] and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.
He was severely wounded in the head, and died of his wounds [17th October 1918] (aged 29).
The Halifax Courier [2nd November 1918] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Vadencourt British Cemetery, Maissemy, France [Grave Ref III A 30].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Copley War Memorial
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nash, John | Ref N318 |
Nash, Thomas | Ref N2000 |
In 1833, he married Elizabeth, daughter of William Scholfield.
Children:
They lived at
The couple were buried at Christ Church, Todmorden
This & associated entries use material contributed by Linda Briggs
Nash, William | Ref N349 |
Born in Oving, Buckinghamshire.
He was a labourer of Copley [1877] / a gas house labourer [1881] / a gas stoker [1891] / a woollen hoist tenter [1901] / a mill labourer (worsted spinners) [1911].
On 25th December 1877, he married Alice Ann Luty [1858-19??] at Christ Church, Pellon
Alice Ann, of Copley, was born in Midgley / Luddendenfoot, the daughter of Thomas Luty, singer
Children:
The 1911 census shows that they had had 7 children of whom 4 were still alive at that time
They lived at
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Derrick Habergham
National Charter Association | Ref N572 |
National Cinema, Halifax | Ref N532 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
National Cycle Network | Ref N563 |
National Heritage List for England (NHLE) | Ref N410 |
The superseded the earlier Images of England website
National Post Card Company | Ref N500 |
National Provincial & Union Bank of England Limited | Ref N716 |
National Provincial Bank | Ref N31 |
In 1971, the National Provincial merged with the District Bank and Westminster Bank to form the National Westminster Bank / NatWest Bank.
See NatWest Bank, Halifax and Provincial Bank Chambers, Halifax
National Schools Society | Ref N493 |
National Society | Ref N494 |
National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children | Ref N537 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
Nattrass, Robert | Ref N771 |
Inspector Hey and other officers saw Nattrass throwing stones at St Joseph's Catholic Church, Brighouse.
He was charged with taking part in the Irish Riots of 9th May 1882.
He was committed to gaol for 4 months with hard labour
NatWest Bank, Brighouse | Ref N163 |
NatWest Bank, Halifax | Ref N32 |
Naughton, John | Ref N647 |
A newspaper advertisement of July 1877 announced
HIGH CLASS SCHOOL for the SONS OF GENTLEMEN
John Naughton begs to inform the Gentry of Halifax and neighbourhood that in accordance with his original intentions he proposes to move to SELBOURNE VILLAS, SAVILE PARK ROAD, HALIFAX (owing to the tenancy of Captain Campbell not expiring till the end of May the school has been conducted from 6, Heath Villas) |
Headmaster at Carlton House School, Halifax [1880, 1881]
He married Eliza Ann [1858-1???] from Great Ayton, Scarborough
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Navey, Edward | Ref N383 |
He was a master cotton spinner employing 30 hands [1861]. He established Edward Navey & Company.
On 27th June 1855, he married Elizabeth Cooke [1810-1873] from Soyland/Sowerby Bridge, at Square Chapel, Halifax.
He established Edward Navey's Charity
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham, Alan Longbottom & Peter Robinson
Navey's: Edward Navey & Company | Ref N478 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom & Peter Robinson
Navey's's: Edward Navey's Charity | Ref N674 |
Recorded in 1902, when a total of £20 15/- was distributed to 37 applicants.
In January 1906, a total of £15 10/- was distributed – in sums varying from 5/- to 20/= – to 40 applicants. A sum of 2 guineas was also paid to Halifax Infirmary.
See Samuel Hoyle
Navey, William | Ref N645 |
He was a watchmaker and clockmaker at Brighouse [1829, 1842].
On 7th September 1842, he married Ellen at Hanover Street Chapel, Halifax.
Ellen, (née Crossley), was born in Halifax, & was the widow of John Mortimer
Child: Susannah [1844-10th June 1852] who was buried with her parents
William died in Oldham [25th November 1865].
Ellen died at Rastrick [9th January 1880] (aged 77).
The couple were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse [Grave Ref: O52]. with Caroline Mortimer [1835-1854] & Agnes Mortimer [1837-1855], Ellen's daughters by her first marriage
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Navigation Warehouse, Brighouse | Ref N259 |
Navigation Wharf, Halifax | Ref N507 |
Navvy Bridge, Mytholmroyd | Ref N95 |
Navvyopolis | Ref N79 |
Contemporary reports described it as
3 rows of one-storey wooden houses. Each house is occupied by one family, and each may take up to 8 lodgers. Peat is used as fuel. No dogs may be kept. Many houses own chickens and one or more pigs. The Tommy Shop sells food and household goods
Around 1872, a reading room was built. This was later used as a school-room, and Sunday services were held in the room. Later, a day school [for children] and a night school [for the men] was set up
Naylor's | Ref N745 |
Naylor ... | Ref N816 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Naylor & Brooke | Ref N504 |
Naylor & Goodyear | Ref N768 |
They had quarries at
Partners included Samuel Naylor and Mr Goodyear.
On 3rd January 1868, Edward Worsnop was killed at their quarry when a large quantity of stones and earth fell on him.
Naylor's Gift | Ref N212 |
Half of the money was to be given to the Curate at Heptonstall Church – who must be a Master of Arts – for a sermon on St John the Baptist's Day, and the remainder to be given to poor children of and within the parish of Heptonstall.
If the Curate was not an MA, then the whole of the money was to go to the children
Naylor's: J. Naylor & Company Limited | Ref N471 |
Naylor's: John Naylor & Company | Ref N463 |
Naylor's: John Naylor & Son | Ref N621 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Naylor's: Joseph Naylor | Ref N764 |
Question: Does anyone know anything about the man or his business?
Naylor Lane Bar, Luddendenfoot | Ref N747 |
John Naylor collected the tolls here
Naylor's: William Naylor & Sons | Ref N554 |
Naze Bottom Park, Hebden Bridge | Ref N96 |
Naze Farm, Walsden | Ref N77 |
Naze Hill, Pecket Well | Ref N218 |
Nazebottom Temperance Brass Band | Ref N670 |
See Walter Mitchell
Nazebottom Temperance Prize Band | Ref N166 |
Neagle, Anna | Ref N74 |
Neal, Dawn | Ref N111 |
Neal, Henry | Ref N269 |
On 24th July 1826, he married Ann Wainhouse.
Licence Date: 21st July 1826
Ann born in Halifax, baptised at Halifax Parish Church [27th March 1803], was the daughter of Robert Wainhouse
Children:
The couple died in Boston Spa: Henry [16th July 1850]; Ann [2nd June 1853]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeff Shaw
Near Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well | Ref N202 |
See Bent Head, Heptonstall and Far Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well
Near Hazlehurst, Shibden | Ref N140 |
Near Mires, Southowram | Ref N741 |
Near Siddal Hall | Ref N452 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Neatby, Ernest | Ref N339 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a welder for boiler maker [1911] / employed by Graham & Fleming, boiler makers, Boothtown.
In [Q3] 1913, he married Mary a Tansey in Halifax.
Mary had been a laundress boarding with Ernest's widowed mother & family in 1911
Children:
They lived at 10 Palm Street, Boothtown.
During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the West Riding Regiment.
He was awarded the Military Medal [1918].
He is remembered on the Roll of Honour at Saint Edward's Mission Church, Boothtown His brother, Fred was killed in the same battle that he won his distinction.
Ernest survived the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Neatby, Fred | Ref N704 |
Born in Sheffield.
He was a boiler maker [1891].
In [Q3] 1881, he married Mary Helen Annie Lediard [1858-1???] at St Mary the Virgin, Rawmarsh, Rotherham.
Annie was born in Worcester
Children:
They lived at
Fred died in Halifax [Q4 1904] (aged 47).
Living with them [in 1911] was boarder Mary Tansey [b 1887] (laundress). Mary later married Ernest Neatby
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Neatby, Fred | Ref N636 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a member of St Edward's Mission Church, Boothtown / a dyehouse labourer [1911] / employed at Bedford's soap works, Huddersfield.
In 1916, he married Beatrice M. Illingworth in Huddersfield.
Child: Ernest K. [Q4] 1916
They lived at 36 St Peter's Street, Boothtown, Halifax.
During World War I, he enlisted [November 1915], and he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He died of wounds in hospital [1st December 1917] (aged 30).
He was buried at Mont Huon Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref V D 8B].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.
His brother Ernest won the MM.
in the same battle when Fred was wounded
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Neath, Annie | Ref N695 |
On 17th March 1921, she was sentenced to death for murdering her child
Neath, Ronald | Ref N455 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Neaverson's | Ref N817 |
The business was at 12 Old Arcade, Halifax [1905, 1913], 15 Old Arcade / 5 Russell Street [1936], and Princess Street, Halifax [1980]. They were also at Huddersfield and Doncaster [1913].
Walter Neaverson died in Huddersfield [24th March 1956].
In 1957, Gladys, wife of Arthur Pickles, bought the shop and ran the business until 1970.
The business was then taken over by Charles Ratcliffe and Doll Sunderland.
The business closed in June 2011.
See Michael Whitaker
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Glover
Neaverson, Walter | Ref N516 |
He established Neaverson's glass, china and earthenware dealer in Halifax [around 1890].
Walter died in Huddersfield [24th March 1956]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Ned Hill, Bradshaw | Ref N665 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jane Greetham
Neddy Bridge, Todmorden | Ref N583 |
Neech, Dr James T. | Ref N513 |
Physician and surgeon and medical officer of health and medical officer at the Borough Fever Hospital. He lived at 2 Savile Park, Halifax [1905]
Needham & Greenwood | Ref N593 |
Partners included T. Needham, J. Needham and W. Greenwood.
Needham, Arthur Charles | Ref N315 |
During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 8th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.
He died 16th November 1916.
He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6C], on Firth's War Memorial, and on Bailiff Bridge War Memorial
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivor Davies
Needham, Charles | Ref N798 |
He died at Halifax Union Workhouse [28th April 1899] (aged 64).
He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: M 57 D]
Needham, Crabtree | Ref N191 |
Born in Heptonstall.
Baptised 1836.
He was an errand boy [1851] / a warehouseman [1857] / a labourer iron foundry [1861] / a piece singer [1871] / a stoker.
In [Q2] 1857, he married Grace Greenwood [1836-1???] at Heptonstall Church.
Grace was born in Erringden, the daughter of William Greenwood, overlooker.She was a throstle spinner (cotton) [1861]
Children:
They lived at
In 1891, John William Needham was head of the household; his mother Grace was dead by 1891.
Living with them [in 1891] were Lydia, her husband John Waterman, and children.
In later years, the Needhams were living with Lydia, and her husband John Waterman
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Needham, Ernest | Ref N627 |
He was a creeler for a worsted weaver [1901] / a member of Square Church Pleasant Sunday Afternoon Society / employed at Crossley's.
He lived at 4 Health Street, Commercial Road, Halifax.
During World War I, he enlisted [August 1916] and served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Ypres [20th September 1917] (aged 32).
The Halifax Courier [10th November 1917] reported his death with a photograph.
He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets
His brother John also died in the War
Needham, Rev G. | Ref N506 |
Needham, James | Ref N68 |
He was an iron-worker. He studied in his spare time and – with Charles Crossland, also self-taught – he identified many new species of fungus.
The two men were founder members of the British Mycological Society.
He was buried at Birchcliffe Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge
Needham, John | Ref N209 |
Born in Bradford.
He was a moulder [1823, 1841, 1843] / an iron moulder [1851].
In 1823, he married Betty Crabtree.
Children:
The children were baptised at Birchcliffe General Baptist Chapel, Wadsworth.
In 1841, the family were living with Betty's parents.
Betty died in 1843 (aged 39).
She was buried on 3rd August 1843 at ?.
On 25th December 1843, he married Hannah Crabtree at Heptonstall Church.
Hannah a cotton baler, was the daughter of John Crabtree, and sister of his first wife
They lived at Bridge Lanes, Hebden Bridge [1851].
Living with them [in 1851] were widowed sister-in-law Sarah Newell [b 1799] (drawer card room cotton), and unmarried niece Esther Crabtree [b 1821] (power weaver cotton), and her children Abraham Crabtree [b 1842] (errand boy) Elizabeth Crabtree [b 1850].
John died in 1856
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Jeffrey Knowles
Needham, John | Ref N179 |
Born 23rd October 1876.
He was employed by the Halifax Billposting Company / a well-known tenor & trained at the Royal College of Music / a member of the Choir at St Marie's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street / Choirmaster at St Marie's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street, St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax and at Leeds Catholic Cathedral.
He married Unknown.
Children:
He lived at Carlton Street, Halifax.
He died at home after a long & severe illness [31st July 1917].
The Halifax Courier [4th August 1917] reported his death with a photograph. His brother Thomas Needham was killed in action [World War I], and his brother James Needham was hospitalised with trench fever
He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery
Needham, John | Ref N601 |
He was treasurer at Halifax Textile Trades Club / a bobbin setter [1891] / a worsted loomer [1901] / a twister and drawer in for cloth manufacturer [1911] / a twister-in at Martin Sons & Company Limited, Pellon Lane Mills.
In [Q3] 1903, he married Elizabeth Kelly in Halifax.
Children:
They lived at
During World War I, he enlisted [15th July 1916] and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He was killed [13th August 1917] (aged 37).
He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
His brother Ernest also died in the War.
In [Q2] 1923, Elizabeth married John R. Batchelor in Halifax.
They lived at 56 Commercial Road, Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Needham, Matthew | Ref N18 |
Born in Tideswell, Derbyshire.
He was a plush weaver [1891] / a worsted carpet weaver [1901].
In [Q2] 1872, he married Margaret Eliza Beaumont [1853-1???] in Halifax.
Margaret was born in Manchester
Children:
They lived at
Sons John & Ernest died in World War I
Needham, Michael | Ref N751 |
He married Unknown.
Children:
The family lived at 28 South Darley Street, Halifax [1935].
On 16th April 1935, his body was found in the Calder & Hebble canal, near Caddy Field Bridge. Michael had been in bad health for the last 9 years. He was last seen by his son, just before he had gone to visit the doctor. His overcoat and walking-sticks were found on the canal bank
Needham, Mr | Ref N187 |
He married Unknown.
Children:
Needham, Mr | Ref N375 |
Needham, Richard | Ref N638 |
During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He died 12th November 1918 (aged 29).
He is remembered on the Karachi 1914-1918 War Memorial, Pakistan, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church
Needham, Samuel | Ref N441 |
Baptised at Masbrough, Rotherham [10th January 1776].
He lived at Birstall [1898].
On 22nd October 1798, he married Hannah Cawthray at St John's Church, Tong.
Children:
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Needham, Thomas | Ref N830 |
Of 8 Carlton Street, Halifax.
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He was killed in Thiepval Sector, Somme [9th July 1916] (aged 31).
He was buried at Lonsdale Cemetery Authuille, France [Grave Ref IX C 8].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets
Needham's Universal Drapery & Fancy Establishment | Ref N673 |
Needham, William Robert | Ref N373 |
Born in Warmington [1850].
From 1880, he ran a business as a silk mercer, milliner, dress and mantle maker at his Universal Drapery & Fancy Establishment at 9-11 Crown Street, Halifax.
He was at 9 Corn Market, Halifax [1881].
In 1888, he bought land to build showrooms at the rear of the premises.
On 5th September 1887, he married Alice Mary Elizabeth Howe [1856-1936] in Kettering.
Alice was born in Kettering
Children:
Robert died at Linden House [6th August 1915].
Alice died at Eversley [1st August 1936], although she left a will which indicates her death as 4th April 1936.
The couple & other members of the family (‡) were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Needless Hall, Brighouse | Ref N8 |
Owners and tenants have included
Recorded on maps produced in 1847.
Cookson & Ellis were at Needless Hall Quarry here [1896]
See Needless
Needless Road, Heptonstall | Ref N248 |
The Negro of Victoria Road, Halifax | Ref N755 |
Question: Does anyone know anything about this man?
This & associated entries use material contributed by Martin Coates
Neil, Herbert | Ref N294 |
Born in Todmorden.
He was a cotton weaver [1911] / a weaver with W. L. Sandbach & Company.
He lived at 82 Industrial Street, Walsden.
During World War I, he was called-up under the Derby Scheme and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) attached to the 24th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.
He was killed in action [8th September 1916].
The Todmorden & District News [22nd September 1916] reported his death with a photograph
Private Herbert Neil, Northumberland Fusiliers, was killed in action at the Somme on the 8th of September 1916, aged 23.He was buried when a shell exploded over his dugout. It took an hour and a half to dig him out, when he was found to be dead.
He attested under Lord Derby's scheme and was called up in April 1916.
He joined the Duke of Wellington's then was transferred to the Northumberland Fusiliers after arriving in France
He was buried at London Cemetery & Extension, Longueval, France [Grave Ref 10 H 19].
He is (possibly) remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium, and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Derrick Habergham
Neil, James | Ref N300 |
Born in Manchester.
He was a fustian cutter of Ferny Lee, Stansfield [1889] / a fustian cutter [1891] / a corn miller [1901].
On 21st September 1889, he married Grace Butterworth [1867-1???] at Heptonstall Church.
Grace, of Millwood, Stansfield, was born in Todmorden, the daughter of John Butterworth, weaver.She was a widowed cotton weaver [1911]
Children:
The children were born in Todmorden.
They lived at
James died 18th March 1911 (aged 43).
The Todmorden & District News [22nd March 1912] published an In Memoriam
In loving memory of James Neil who died March 18th 1911.From his Wife and Children, 82 Industrial Street, Todmorden
Living with them [in 1911] were daughter Lottie (cotton weaver) & her husband James (labourer to cotton warp singer)
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Neil, Archbishop Richard | Ref N253 |
Neill, William | Ref N650 |
Neirford, Maud (Matilda) de | Ref N496 |
The Earl requested that these sons become his heirs, but they and their mother died before the Earl
Nell Carr, Wadsworth | Ref N137 |
Nell Cote, Todmorden | Ref N92 |
Nell Mires, Wadsworth | Ref N133 |
Nellson, Robert | Ref N637 |
Halifax dyer.
He followed his father's trade as a dyer at a fulling mill near North Bridge [1200s]
Nelmires Farm, Mytholmroyd | Ref N681 |
Nelmires Stoop | Ref N346 |
See Stoop
Nelson ... | Ref N305 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nelson's Croft, Stainland | Ref N628 |
Nelson's: George Nelson & Company | Ref N656 |
Nelson House, Barkisland | Ref N25 |
Nelson's: James Nelson & Sons | Ref N677 |
Nelson's: James Nelson & Sons Limited | Ref N790 |
Nelson's: John Nelson & Sons, Todmorden | Ref N65 |
Recorded in 1921, when they were at Millstead Mills, Castle Street, Todmorden.
At that time, Fielden Kershaw worked there as a loom oiler and his son Edward, worked as a weaver
Nelson's Life Pensions for Widows | Ref N615 |
Nelson's Life Pensions for Widows
Every Married Woman should read this page Because by purchasing half lb. of Tea weekly, for five consecutive weeks, they are entitled to a pension of 10/- per week in the event of their husband's death, provided their husband is, when they commence purchasing the Tea, certified to NELSON & Co., by a duly qualified medical practitioner, to be in good health; or 5/- per week by purchasing quarter lb. weekly A certificate of health will be dispensed with in the case of customers who have purchased the Tea every week for the twelve months next previous to the husband's death NELSON & Co. will be pleased to forward, on receipt of a Post Card, the names and addresses of over 800 Widows who are receiving their 10/- or 5/- Pensions every week NELSON & Co. are paying away £15,000 per annum to widows who have purchased their TEA, the price of which is 2/2 per lb
Local Branch; 29, Violet Street, Halifax
|
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Neptune | Ref N134 |
Neptune Bridge, Hebden Bridge | Ref N393 |
It was reopened when the bridge was rebuilt and widened in March 1985.
Nesbitt, Billy | Ref N220 |
Nesbitt, Robert | Ref N297 |
During World War II, he served with the Royal Navy.
He died in the conflict.
Nesham, Rev George Dove | Ref N267 |
Nestlé | Ref N6 |
Nestor, Right Rev Donald Patrick | Ref N260 |
He attended Heath Grammar School [1950-1957]. After studying Theology at Oxford, he became curate near Dewsbury, then in the Portsmouth diocese. In 1972, he went to Southern Africa, and he was chaplain at the National University of Lesotho for 7 years.
In January 1978, he was appointed Suffragan Bishop of Lesotho. He became famous in the country for spreading the Word of God, to places which were difficult to reach, by riding on horseback to get there.
In 1992, he returned to England, and became Vicar at Bretherton, near Preston. In 2001, he entered the monastic Society of the Sacred Mission at St Anthony's Priory, Durham
Nether Brea, Shibden | Ref N161 |
Nether Field House, Sowerby | Ref N762 |
Recorded in 1608, when it was a messuage owned by Jeremy Brigg.
Owners and tenants have included
The property remained in the Holroide family until 1702 when Joseph Holroide, gent of Sowerby sold it to James Stansfeld.
It was later known as the Old Hall to distinguish it from the newer Field House
This & associated entries use material contributed by Joanne Backhouse
Nether Hazlehurst, Shibden | Ref N146 |
Nether House, Hove Edge | Ref N7 |
It is mentioned in Domesday Book. It is probably the oldest surviving dwelling in Brighouse.
A mediæval timber-framed building was erected about 1589. The 3-bay house was cased in stone [around 1700].
There is a priest hole in the building.
The main road which passed in front of the house – Apple Tree Lane – is now a small path.
In the 1850s, the house was the Black Horse pub.
Owners and tenants have included
This & associated entries use material contributed by Kai Roberts
Nether Longley, Norland | Ref N99 |
Nether Royd, Soyland | Ref N4230 |
Nether Shibden | Ref N351 |
Question: Could this be the same as Lower Shibden Hall?
Nether Woodhouse, Rastrick | Ref N261 |
Netheredge, Brighouse | Ref N1005 |
Netherfield | Ref N123 |
Netherfield lay immediately north-east of the church
This & associated entries use material contributed by John Ogden
Netherton House, Holmfield | Ref N429 |
Owners and tenants have included
Netherton, Northowram | Ref N60 |
Netherwood, Brighouse | Ref N184 |
It is now 2 private dwellings
Netherwood, David | Ref N446 |
He was a maltster [1814] / landlord of the Oddfellows Arms, Brighouse [1846].
On 3rd December 1814, he married Mary Ann Steel [1793-1856] in Snaith.
Mary Ann was born in Wakefield
Children:
David died at the Oddfellows Arms [5th February 1846].
After his death, Mary took over at the Oddfellows Arms.
She died there [13th April 1856].
The couple were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Netherwood, John | Ref N340 |
Born in Norland.
He was a stone mason [1851] / a mason [1861] / a stone mason [1871].
On 24th December 1859, he married Mary Ann Earnshaw [1834-1919] at Elland Parish Church.
Mary Ann was born in Norland
Children:
They lived at
Members of the family were buried at St George's Church, Sowerby
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Netherwood, John William | Ref N310 |
He was a dyer's labourer [1911] / employed by Blackburn Brothers.
During World War I, he served as a Private with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He died following a German gas attack [19th December 1915].
The Halifax Courier [8th January 1916] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Ypres Reservoir Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I B 9].
He is remembered on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Netherwood, Joseph | Ref N353 |
He was a stone mason [1841, 1851].
He married Judith Butler [1801-1870].
Judith was born in Warley
Children:
They lived at
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Netherwood, Joseph | Ref N309 |
Born in Norland.
He was a warehouseman of Spark House, Norland [1890] / a cotton maker-up [1901] / a cotton warehouseman [1911].
In 1890, he married Betsy Jane Elvin [1866-1947] at Halifax Parish Church.
Betsy Jane, of Skircoat, was born in Ludford, Lincolnshire, the daughter of George Elvin, gas stoker
Children:
They lived at
Joseph died in Sowerby [10th January 1944].
He was buried at St George's Church, Sowerby.
Betsy Jane died in Sowerby [13th August 1947]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Netherwood, Timothy | Ref N106 |
He lived at Giles House, Hove Edge from 1655 A datestone at the house records 1655 T N
Netherwood, Timothy | Ref N688 |
Netherwood, Timothy | Ref N143 |
He married Elisabeth [1743-1797].
Nettleship, Arthur | Ref N19 |
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.
He was killed in action [1st November 1914].
He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 31], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
Nettleship, John | Ref N55 |
He was an apprentice plumber & glazier [1861] / a plumber.
In 1871, he was living at 16 Silver Street, Halifax with his brother William and family
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch
Nettleship, Jonathan | Ref N56 |
He was a woolstapler [1861] / an auctioneer [1888].
In [Q4] 1871, he married Emily Caw [1844-1915] in Halifax.
Jonathan died 12th January 1888 (aged 49) and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1146] with his parents
This & associated entries use material contributed by Malcolm Corbett
Nettleship, Stanley | Ref N819 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a plumber at 42 The Boulevard, Halifax.
He continued to trade under his father's name: W. Nettleship.
He has a workshop and garage at 97 King Cross Road [1940s to 1953].
In [Q3] 1928, he married Elsie Mary Greenwood in Halifax
They lived at
He died 26th October 1953.
Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,782 19/3d. Probate was granted to his widow Elsie Mary
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch
Nettleship, William | Ref N813 |
He was innkeeper of the Old Bull's Head, Halifax [1845, 1851].
Around 1835, he married Hannah Waring [1813-1866].
Hannah was born in Ryall, Yorkshire
Children:
They lived at 101 Bull Green, Halifax [1851].
William died 20th September 1851 (aged 40).
After his death, Hannah took over at the Old Bull's Head.
Hannah died 5th August 1866 (aged 53)
Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1146]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch & Malcolm Corbett
Nettleship, William | Ref N54 |
Born in Halifax [28th January 1841].
He was an apprentice plumber & glazier [1861] / a plumber employing 1 man & 1 boy [1871] / a plumber & glazier (employer) [1901].
On 1st October 1866, he married (1) Mary Jane Mackrill [1843-1872] in Halifax.
Children:
Mary Jane died in childbirth [13th February 1872] (aged 29).
On 16th December 1873, he married (2) Harriet Topham [1854-1900] in Welbourn, Lincolnshire.
Children:
They lived at
Living with them [in 1871] was brother John Nettleship.
Harriet died 20th February 1900 (aged 46).
William died 26th March 1922 (aged 81).
He and his wives were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1774]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch & Malcolm Corbett
Nettleship, William | Ref N824 |
He was a plumber [1901].
In [Q4] 1901, he married Annie Ellison in Halifax.
Children:
They lived at 42 The Boulevard, Halifax [1905].
William died at home [13th March 1933].
Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,246 12/9d [Resworn £1,600 7/2d] to his widow Annie.
His son Stanley continued to trade under his father's name
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch & Malcolm Corbett
Nettleton ... | Ref N29 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nettleton & Rhodes | Ref N80 |
Neumann, Carl Ernest | Ref N567 |
During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.
He died 15th August 1918 (aged 24).
He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 8]
Neuville, Madame Elise de | Ref N2960 |
(Probably) born on Kennington, Surrey, or possibly in Paris.
She appeared in concerts with Mrs Sunderland on 7th March 1839 and 24th October 1839
She also advertised private lessons in the French and Italian languages [1838].
She married either James or Robert de Neuville.
Children:
She died in Margate [15th March 1886]. Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £21 to a wealthy local grocer.
Question: Does anyone know anything more about Mme de Neuville and/or her family?
Her grandson Bernard [1842-1???] was also an accomplished performer on the harp
This & associated entries use material contributed by Gwenda Yeomans
Neville, Margaret | Ref N213 |
She was one of the children who came to the district and worked as a worsted spinner at Calvert's Mill at Wainstalls.
She lived with George Abbott [1901]
Nevison, Robert | Ref N306 |
In [Q2] 1863, he married Philis Carr Atcheson [1829-1888] in Halifax.
Philis / Phyllis was born in Norfolk.She was a laundress [1871]
The family lived at 6 Trinity House, Halifax [1871].
Living with them [in 1871] was George Hebden [b 1822] (agent).
Robert died 4th June 1867 (aged 48).
Philis died 18th May 1888 (aged 59).
The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1218]
Nevison, Robert | Ref N313 |
He was a yarn stretcher [1901] / a dyer's labourer [1911].
In [Q1] 1887, he married Margaret Frith in Halifax.
Children:
The family lived at 5 Whitehead Terrace, Halifax [1901, 1911].
Robert died 21st August 1914 (aged 47), and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1144] with William Frith & Charles Bruno Duckitt.
In [Q3] 1916, he married (2) Walter Watson in Halifax.
Nevison, William | Ref N307 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a carpet setter's overlooker [1891, 1901].
In [Q3] 1883, he married Mary Elizabeth Halstead [1864-1923] in Halifax.
Mary was born in Southowram
Children:
The family lived at
William died Q3 1908 (aged 45).
Mary Elizabeth died Q1 1923 (aged 59)
Nevison, Willie | Ref N756 |
He was a member of ILP billiards team / employed at Dean Clough.
In [Q1] 1937, he married Ellen Thomas in Halifax.
They lived at 33 Wilson Street, Halifax.
During World War II, he enlisted with the Royal Artillery [1941], then he served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd/5th Battalion Queen's Royal Regiment (West Surrey).
He was killed in action in Italy [30th September 1944] (aged 32).
He was buried at Cesena War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref VI E 8].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
New Assembly Rooms, Halifax | Ref N295 |
Recorded in 1851, when John Richard Ingram was Honorary Secretary.
See Assembly rooms, Assembly Rooms, Halifax and New Rooms, Harrison Lane
New Bank Economic Stores | Ref N623 |
New Bank Post Office | Ref N603 |
In 1936, it was at 101 New Bank and Mrs Sarah A. Horsley was in charge
New Barton, Triangle | Ref N424 |
New Belle Vue, Halifax | Ref N497 |
New Box House, Luddenden | Ref N225 |
New Bridge, Hebden Bridge | Ref N14 |
New Bridge, Hebden Bridge | Ref N168 |
New Bridge, Luddenden Dean | Ref N570 |
This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country
New Bridge, Lumbutts | Ref N731 |
New British Rubber Company | Ref N515 |
New Californian Dance Band | Ref N633 |
2nd Prize Winners in Strong Competition at the recent Dance Band Contest held in Halifax
New Cattle Market, Halifax | Ref N651 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Anthony Buckless
New Century | Ref N90 |
New Delight Table Water Company Limited | Ref N613 |
New Dick, Rastrick | Ref N287 |
New Earth Head, Midgley | Ref N221 |
Midgley workhouse was here from 1770 to 1834
New Edge Farm, Heptonstall | Ref N720 |
New Gate End Bridge, Blackstone Edge | Ref N175 |
New Hall, Elland | Ref N10 |
See Newell
New Hall Riding, Rastrick | Ref N782 |
New Heath Head, Midgley | Ref N116 |
New Holme Cottages, Wainstalls | Ref N194 |
Owners and tenants have included
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
New Holme, Warley | Ref N792 |
Owners and tenants have included
New House, Barkisland | Ref N545 |
New House, Bradshaw | Ref N167 |
It is said that there was a nunnery here at one time.
In the 15th century, it was owned by the Doughty family.
Subsequent owners and tenants have included
Graptolite writes that
the house was largely demolished when a family dispute arose after Mr Mitchell left the estate to his daughter, Sarah, rather than to his son, who had built Newhouse with his father's assistance. The son's wife was extremely indignant at this, and she determined that whatever became of the extensive park-like grounds, the large family mansion should not pass into the hands of her sister-in-law. Evidently she was a lady of great spirit and determination, and she gave orders that Newhouse should be pulled down. In 1808, a large number of workmen commenced the work of demolition early on a Sunday morning. They were freely supplied with beer and other refreshments, so that there was no necessity to leave the work till the building was completely razed to the ground. These proceedings were watched by hundreds of people, and caused no slight commotion in Ovenden and the district round about. Afterwards Mrs Mitchell, who always exhibited a very dignified bearing, became known by a name associating her with the pulling down of the Hall.
New House Farm, Midgley | Ref N207 |
New House, Heptonstall | Ref N193 |
The building is now a part of the Cross Inn
New House, Lightcliffe | Ref N4 |
Owners and tenants have included
New House, Mytholmroyd | Ref N105 |
Halifax house with a 2-storey porch.
Dated 1718.
Around 1770, this was the home of Thomas Spencer, one of the Cragg Vale Coiners.
It was used as a storeroom by Thornber Brothers Limited [1914].
This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country
The Todmorden Advertiser & Hebden Bridge Newsletter [12th September 1930] published an article
New House, Mytholmroyd might be the new house that John Farrar settled on his relatives in 1616.In 1721, it was in the hands of Thomas Sunderland of Hathershelf.
When the Turvin coiners were in their heyday, New House was occupied by the Spencers. Thomas Spencer, the son, was born in 1727 and in his 20s served about two years with the 33rd regiment of Foot, but was discharged with a pension. He it was, who, along with Isaac Hartley, arranged matters for the disposal of the Excise man. He, however, suffered an untimely end, for he and a colleague were active in the riots in Halifax on 7th June 1783 and both were hanged on Beacon Hill on the 16th Aug following. There are no deeds that will throw any light on the ownership of this old house
New House, Parrack Nook | Ref N365 |
Owners and tenants have included
New House, Soyland | Ref N682 |
New House, Warley | Ref N791 |
New Houses, Mytholmroyd | Ref N348 |
They were later known as Pall Mall
New Inn Smoke Club, Sowerby Bridge | Ref N344 |
Recorded in January 1898, when T. F. Stewart was President
New Inn Workmen's Hostel, Soyland | Ref N6680 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by ROOTSCHAT
New Laithe, Elland | Ref N159 |
New Laithe Farm, Walshaw | Ref N254 |
New Laithe Moor, Widdop | Ref N422 |
New Laithe, Rishworth | Ref N371 |
New Lightlie Roids, Barkisland | Ref N230 |
New Longley, Norland | Ref N171 |
Number 15 is inscribed 1797.
The houses had a shared work-floor which extended over 2 or more dwellings.
Owners and tenants have included
See Doldrum, Norland
New Longley, Norland | Ref N774 |
New Market, Halifax | Ref N11 |
On 9th July 1789, the site of Halifax New Market was fixed, and the new market was built in 1790 on the Southgate site owned by Sir Watts Horton and now occupied by the Borough Market.
New Market Street Turkish Baths, Halifax | Ref N457 |
He remained here until the baths were closed to make way for a street improvement scheme.
He bought the King Cross Street Turkish Baths [1894]
New Marsh Farm, Southowram | Ref N9201 |
New Music Hall, Halifax | Ref N801 |
New Olympia Cinema, Todmorden | Ref N174 |
It closed in 1966.
It was later used as a bingo hall and a Kwik Save supermarket.
Since the supermarket chain closed [2008], the building has been closed.
It is now derelict and action groups are trying to preserve the Art Deco façade
New Pellon | Ref N183 |
Question: Does anyone know why it was called New Pellon? What / where was the older Pellon?
New Pellon Liberal Club | Ref N508 |
New Road Cricket Club | Ref N430 |
Later that month they spent a further £2-10s on cricket material; then in April 1886 they bought bats, wickets, pads, balls etc.
It is likely that their first game was on 24th April 1886 when the first XI played at Lockwood Church whilst the second XI played against Lockwood Church second XI at Grantham Park, Rastrick. New Road were all out for just 17 runs [Huddersfield Chronicle 29th April 1886].
In 1988, it became the Badger Hill Cricket Club
This & associated entries use material contributed by Andy Eccles
New Rooms, Halifax | Ref N64 |
The annual subscription was 1½ guineas.
Around 1835, Catholic meetings and services were held here before they moved to the St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street
The building housed a subscription library – which had moved from Old Cock Yard and other premises – a news room, a museum for the Literary & Philosophical Society, concert rooms, a reading room, a billiard room, a card room, a ball room, and a supper room. There were also private apartments for the housekeeper. The building was said to be the finest in the country.
In 1845, they were listed as the Assembly Rooms.
People who performed here included Paganini [1832].
The building was demolished in 1898 for the construction of the Police Headquarters and the Court on the site.
See Assembly Rooms, John Crowder and Orderly Room
New Street Building Society | Ref N82 |
New Street Laundry, New Pellon | Ref N509 |
New Theatre at the Talbot, Woolshops | Ref N252 |
New Theatre, Halifax | Ref N148 |
New Theatre in White Lion Yard, Halifax | Ref N758 |
See Samuel Saunders
New Top Reservoir | Ref N631 |
New Yard, Stainland | Ref N727 |
New York House, Soyland | Ref N172 |
Recorded around 1800, when it was security against a mortgage taken by Elkanah Hoyle.
Mary Wheelwright was a farmer here [1871, 1881]
New Zealand | Ref N499 |
New Zealand, Rishworth | Ref N366 |
Newall, Alfred | Ref N676 |
An advertisement for the business in 1913 announced
A. Newall's Artificial Teeth |
Newall, John | Ref N699 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jim Clitheroe
Newall, Mary | Ref N201 |
Newall, William Nelson | Ref N38 |
Newberry, Harold John | Ref N833 |
In [Q3] 1917, he married Joan Hartley in Halifax in Reigate, Surrey.
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Newbold, George Samuel | Ref N188 |
He was a painter & gilder [1851] / a carver & gilder [1861].
In [Q3] 1846, he married Sarah Ann Hudson in Halifax.
Children:
They lived at
George died 5th August 1875 (aged 54).
Sarah Ann died 6th March 1906 (aged 89).
The couple & the children ‡ were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 4052]
Newbold, Thomas | Ref N231 |
He married Alice [1816-1???].
Alice was born in Coventry, Warwickshire
Child: Mary Jane [b 1863] who was a throstle spinner in cotton mill [1881] & married (1) John Alfred Uttley & (2) Hugh Augustus Walter Glasse. The family lived at
Alice was a widow by 1881.
Living with the widowed Alice [in 1891] were daughter Mary Jane, her husband Walter Glasse & children
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Newbould, William H. | Ref N298 |
During World War II, he served with the Royal Artillery.
He died in the conflict.
Newbridge Hall, Midgehole | Ref N423 |
Newburn, Edward | Ref N3400 |
He married Elizabeth [1850-19??].
Children:
This & associated entries use material contributed by Carole Edwards Caruso
Newby & Woodhouse | Ref N530 |
In October 1867, it was reported that, for some time, quantities of pack sheeting and similar items had been missed from Brookfoot Mill, Brighouse. On Tuesday, 22nd October 1867, George Lawton, an engineer for Mr Newby, was seen carrying a large bundle from the premises. When arrested, he was found to have sold of 5 stones of pack sheeting to John Waddington, a Brighouse rag merchant. He was charged with theft at Halifax
Newby, Edwin | Ref N447 |
In [Q2] 1884, he married Mary Akroyd [1865-1933] in Halifax.
Mary was born in Stainland, the daughter of Benjamin Akroyd.She was a woollen weaver [1891, 1901] / a woollen blanket weaver [1911]
Children:
They lived at Cold Wells Hill, Stainland (with Mary's parents) [1901, 1911].
MARY died 2nd January 1933 (aged 68).
Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [Grave Ref: S3/276].
Details of Edwin's death / burial place are not yet known
Newby, Herbert | Ref N684 |
During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 8th Battalion King's Own Royal Regiment (Lancaster).
He died 13th November 1916 (aged 21).
He was buried at Bertrancourt Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref 1 K 2]
Newby's: W. R. Newby & Company | Ref N657 |
Newby, William | Ref N735 |
Newcastle, Earl of | Ref N548 |
See Battle of Adwalton Moor, Siege of Bradford, Sir Richard Gledhill, Sergeant-Major General Sir Francis Mackworth and Captain Langdale Sunderland
Newcomb, John Bagworth | Ref N370 |
He was a stone waller [1911] / a stone mason waller [1921].
On 5th December 1888, he married Mary Jane Merrett [1868-1942] at Halifax Parish Church.
Mary Jane was born in Beelsby, Gloucestershire
Children:
They lived at 16 Doncaster Street, Salterhebble [1911, 1921, 1934].
John Bagworth died 25th September 1934.
Probate records show that he left effects valued at £941 7/4d.
Administration was granted to his widow Mary Jane.
The couple & other members of the family (‡) were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell: John Bagworth [29th September 1934]; Mary Jane [26th August 1942]
Newcomb, John William | Ref N215 |
Born in Halifax [30th May 1907].
He was a public works foreman erecting air raid shelters [1939].
In [Q2] 1933, he married Bertha Brook [1906-1988] in Halifax.
Bertha was born in Southowram [24th December 1906], the daughter of John Ellis Brook
There are no records of any children.
The family lived at 8 The Park, Halifax [1939].
John William died 8th June 1968 (aged 61) and was buried at Wesleyan Chapel, Southowram with Bertha's parents.
Bertha died 26th November 1988 (aged 81); her remains were cremated
Newcomb, Wilfred Abraham | Ref N311 |
He was a bobbin carrier (woollen mill) [1911] / a packer at Salterhebble Cotton Mill.
He lived with his parents at 16 Doncaster Street, Salterhebble.
During World War I, he enlisted [1914] and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He was killed at Cambrai whilst taking rations to the Front [27th November 1917] (aged 24).
The Halifax Courier [22nd December 1917] reported his death with a photograph.
He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 6 & 7], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell
Newcombe, Dennis | Ref N162 |
Born in Salford, Lancashire.
He was a tallow chandler [1851, 1871, 1881, 1888].
In [Q1] 1840, he married Ann [1812-1884] in Manchester.
Ann was born in Salford.She was the widow of Mr McIntee, and had 2 children: Elizabeth [b 1831] (employed in factory [1851]) & Robert [1836-1865] (brass finisher [1851]) ‡.
A John McIntee died in Manchester [Q3 1839]
Children:
They lived at
Living with them [in 1871] was grandson Charley Mitchinson [b 1861].
Ann died 26th April 1884 (aged 72).
Dennis died 14th July 1888 (aged 71).
The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 4406] with Thomas English [1803-1864]
Newcombe, Edward | Ref N786 |
He died 28th December 1864 (aged 53).
He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 754 D]
Newcombe, Walter Thomas | Ref N316 |
In [Q2] 1891, he married Eliza Sullivan in Halifax.
Child: Ann [b Hipperholme 1892] who was a sewing machinist [1911]
Walter Thomas died in Halifax in 1896 (aged 27) In 1911, Eliza & Ann were living with Eliza's widowed mother.
They lived at 23 Parliament Street, Halifax [1917]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Newcombe, William | Ref N15 |
He was a bleacher [1868] / a grocer & beerseller [1881].
He married Ann [1842-1914].
Children:
The family lived at
Living with them [in 1881] were William's parents.
William died 24th May 1895 (aged 52).
Living with the widowed Ann [in 1901] were daughter Elizabeth Ann & her husband Edward Hughes, and sister-in-law Sarah Ann Newcombe [1846-1902] & her son William Newcombe.
Ann died 23rd November 1914 (aged 72).
The couple & the children ‡ were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 2642]
Newell ... | Ref N28 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Newell, Barker & Lord | Ref N419 |
Partners included W. Newell, T. Barker and J. Lord.
The partnership was dissolved in December 1857
Newell Brothers | Ref N467 |
Partners included
Newell, Elland | Ref N556 |
Newham, John William | Ref N769 |
Born in Southowram.
He was employed by Smith, Bulmer & Company Limited at Holmfield.
In [Q4] 1933, he married Mary Margaret Kerwin in Halifax.
Children:
They lived at Southowram, then at 3 West Hill Terrace, Gibbet Street, Halifax.
During World War II, he enlisted [1937] and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).
He served in Palestine & in Libya.
He died 5th June 1942 (aged 31).
He was buried at Knightsbridge War Cemetery, Acroma, Libya [Grave Ref 10 J 22].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram
Newham, William | Ref N420 |
He was a cart driver [1911] / a corporation transport lorry driver [1939].
In [Q3] 1906, he married Gladys Rachel Craker [1884-1949] in Leeds.
Gladys was born 13th October 1884
Children:
They lived at
Gladys died 8th August 1949 (aged 64).
William died 17th July 1960 (aged 76).
Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-J35]
Newhouse, Luddenden | Ref N223 |
Owners and tenants have included
Newhouse, Southowram | Ref N289 |
Newhouse, Warley | Ref N730 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by June Illingworth
Newill, J. | Ref N395 |
He died 8th September 1801
Newlands | Ref N75 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Greaves
Newlands Farm, Illingworth | Ref N296 |
Recorded in 1918, when it was up for sale by auction – see Newspaper Cuttings
Newlands House, Northowram | Ref N241 |
The house stood next to the Crown Brewery, Northowram.
Owners and tenants have included
Newlands House, Warley | Ref N724 |
William Haldesworth is recorded here in 1536.
17th century house.
Owners and tenants have included
This & associated entries use material contributed by June Illingworth & Jeffrey Knowles
Newlands, Rastrick | Ref N192 |
Aka The Manse.
This was built at a cost of £700 as the minister's house for Bridge End Congregational Church.
In May 1863, Rev Robert Harley was the first minister live here.
Subsequent owners and tenants have included
In the 1950s, it was divided into 2 flats.
See Newlands Meeting House, Rastrick
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles & J. Thomas
Newman, Allan Edward | Ref N438 |
He was a clock and watchmaker in Croydon [1884].
In 1884, he married Mary Ellen Marsland in Halifax.
Child: Alan [18??-1980]
Allan Edward died 29th March 1894 (aged 34).
He was buried at Booth Independent Church with his father-in-law.
After his death, Mary Ellen and her son came back to Halifax.
Later, Alan went to Australia, so there is a possibility that Mary Ellen went there too. He died there [1968]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Brenda Clifton
Newman, Charles | Ref N757 |
He was landlord of the Bacchus, Halifax [1870, 1871].
He married Grace [1823-1???] from Halifax.
Living with them [in 1871] were 1 servant and 15 lodgers
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Newman, Rev Frederick | Ref N400 |
Curate at Holy Trinity Church [1865]
Newman, Frederick | Ref N354 |
Newman, George | Ref N265 |
Born in Siddal [24th July 1884].
He was a stone quarry man [1901] / a clay grinder [1911] / a tile maker with Joseph Morton Limited at Siddal [1921] / retired [1939].
In [Q4] 1913, he married Harriet Allinson [1886-1945] in Halifax.
Harriet was born Halifax [11th November 1886]
Child: Ronald [b 1918] The family lived at
George died 2nd July 1942 (aged 57).
Harriet died 18th October 1945 (aged 59).
The couple were buried at Wesleyan Chapel, Southowram
Newman, John | Ref N270 |
He was a stone mason.
In [Q2] 1875, he (possibly) married Margaret Ormerod [1855-1925] in Haslingden.
Margaret was born in Bacup
Children:
They lived at
John died Q4 1886 (aged 31).
Margaret died Q3 1925 (aged 71)
Newman, Leonard Hugh | Ref N639 |
In 1938, he married Moira, daughter of Sigurd Johannes Savonius.
Children:
This & associated entries use material contributed by Annie Appleyard & Perran Newman
Newman, Samuel | Ref N562 |
Newnes, Sir George | Ref N52 |
Newspaper, magazine and book publisher, author and editor.
In 1881, he conceived the Tit-Bits magazine in Manchester and then moved to London where he produced the Strand Magazine. He established the Newnes publishing house.
He was a Liberal MP for Newmarket [1885-1895] and for Swansea [1900-1910]
Newnes, Rev Thomas Mold | Ref N240 |
He married Unknown.
Child: George
Newport, George Bernard | Ref N512 |
Born of British parents in Madras, India.
Assistant master at Taunton School [for 10 years].
On 23rd March 1910, he was appointed Principal / Headmaster of Crossley Orphanage out of 154 applicants for the post [1911, 1917].
In [Q1] 1910, he married Helen Margaret Bell in Toxteth Park.
Helen Margaret was born in Liverpool, the daughter of Samuel Arundel Bell
Living with them at the School [in 1911], were Margaret's mother Ellen Bell and brother William
George died in Exeter [Q3 1953] (aged 77)
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Alan Longbottom
Newport, Rev H. | Ref N136 |
He was educated at Selwyn College Cambridge. Curate at Todmorden [1913]
Newport, William Haley | Ref N706 |
He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment).
He died 27th September 1916 (aged 32).
He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 11 C], on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram.
His cousin Mark Norminton also died in the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
News Rooms | Ref N125 |
Several Inns offered a similar service to attract customers.
There were several of these from the mid-19th century, including
Many Mechanics' Institutes also offered these facilities
Newsholme, Edward | Ref N787 |
In [Q4] 1863, he married Margaret Schofield in Bradford.
Children:
The family lived at 17 Aked's Road, Halifax
He died 5th May 1866 (aged 32).
Members of the family were buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: M 3 B]
Newsholme, Rev Wilkinson | Ref N700 |
Newsome ... | Ref N61 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Newsome & Son | Ref N469 |
Newsome's: William Newsome & Sons Limited | Ref N479 |
He moved to Clough Works, Sowerby Bridge [1870] where he established a business as engineers' tool makers. This business was subsequently carried on by Rushworth & Company.
Newsome's subsequently had business at Hollins Mill Lane [1895] and at Central Works, Sowerby Bridge [1905].
When William Newsome retired in 1888, the business became Newsome & Son
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
Newson, John | Ref N98 |
Newson, William | Ref N84 |
He was a mechanic engine fitter [1891] / a marine engine fitter [1901] / a shipyard engineer (with Palmer's Limited) [1911].
In [Q2] 1889, he married Louisa Denton [1868-1919] in Guisborough.
Children:
They lived at
Louisa died in Bramley, Leeds, [5th September 1919] (aged 51) and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 2812] with her Denton grandparents
Newspapers | Ref N13 |
Newstead Avenue Economic Stores | Ref N624 |
Newstead, Dr Christopher John | Ref N145 |
He was an apothecary, medical practitioner & surgeon for Brighouse.
He married Unknown.
They lived at New Road, Brighouse [1845].
He died 26th August 1851 (aged 53).
He was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse
Newstead, Christopher John | Ref N837 |
Born in Bubwith.
He was a surgeon & medical practitioner, living in Brighouse [1851].
A Christopher John Newstead died in Halifax [Q3 1851]
Newstead Co-Op, Halifax | Ref N609 |
In 1937, there was a bakery department here
Newstead, George | Ref N101 |
He absconded with money which Mary had bequeathed to establish a charity school in Brighouse.
He married Ann Priestley.
Ann was the daughter of John Priestley of Sheepscar Hall, Leeds
He acquired the Thornhill Briggs Estate at Brighouse from Mary Bedford, and sold this to Joseph Cartledge
This & associated entries use material contributed by Kristina Bedford
Newstead House, Halifax | Ref N239 |
Owners and tenants have included
Newton | Ref N107 |
Anne Lister uses the name to refer to a number of new houses which had been built near the Pine Apple Hotel at Charlestown
This & associated entries use material contributed by Les Hoyle
Newton, Alfred | Ref N288 |
He married Mary [1822-1909].
Children:
Alfred died 29th March 1854 (aged 32).
Mary died 8th August 1909 (aged 87).
The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 4557]
Newton, Rev David | Ref N498 |
Newton, Dr | Ref N157 |
In July, 1870, he appeared before a large audience at the Mechanics Hall,
An old man known in the district, who had been lame for many years, walking with a crutch, a cure appeared to have been effected as the old fellow shouldered his crutch and walked down the room, and two deaf people claimed they had received decided benefit.
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Newton, Rev Edwin Howard | Ref N277 |
In 1960, he moved to Shropshire
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ruth Newton
Newton, Francis B. | Ref N711 |
He married Unknown.
Newton, Francis William | Ref N710 |
Born in Manchester.
He was a tailor's manager [1881].
On 6th September 1866, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Isaac Priestley at Square Congregational Church
Children:
They lived at 40 Moorfield Villa, Halifax [1881]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Carole Edwards Caruso
Newton, Rev George | Ref N3240 |
He was a Primitive Methodist Minister in Halifax [1896].
In [Q3] 1871, he married Emma Susannah Smith at St George in the East, London.
Children:
They lived at 23 Sowerby Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891].
George died in Castle Eden, Durham [26th November 1912]. Emma Susannah Smith died in Glasgow [2nd April 1905].
The couple were buried at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Newton Green Co-operative Society, Todmorden | Ref N678 |
Newton, Harry | Ref N616 |
Baptised at St Augustine's Church, Halifax [December 1879].
He was a doffer [1891] / an engine tenter of Byron Street, Halifax [1908] / a gas engine tenter [1911].
In [Q1] 1908, he married Alice Pickering [1890-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.
Alice, of Bowling Dyke Yard, Northowram, was born in Salford, Lancashire, the daughter of Philip Francis Pickering, traveller
Children:
They lived at
During World War I, he enlisted [September 1914] and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He went to Egypt [1915], and France [1916].
He was killed in action on the Somme [30th September 1916].
The Halifax Courier [28th October 1916] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval, France. [Grave Ref VIII A 7].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Newton, Jeremiah | Ref N367 |
He died 1st February 1819 (aged 73).
He is remembered at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [Grave Ref: S1/27] on the tomb of John Holroyd
Newton, John | Ref N620 |
He was a silk dresser [1861, 1871, 1881] / a silk dresser overlooker [1891] / landlord of the Anchor Pit, Rastrick [1901].
In 1860, he married (1) Sarah Ann Hirst [1850-1876] from Clifton, in Halifax.
Children:
In 1879, he married (2) Jane Dixon [1835-1894] from Southowram, in Halifax.
In 1897, he married (3) Mary Smith [1846-19??] from Warley.
They lived at
Living with them [in 1871] was a boarder Annie Hurst [aged 12] (carder).
Living with them [in 1881] was a boarder (Jane's father?) George Dixon [aged 77] (card maker) from Southowram
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & David Brown
Newton, Joseph | Ref N606 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a painter [1869, 1871] / a house painter [1881]
In 1869, he married Lucy Jane Spencer [1847-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.
Lucy Jane, of Halifax, was the daughter of John Spencer, warper
Children:
They lived at
Joseph died in 1887 (aged 41)
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Newton, L. | Ref N372 |
Newton, Richard | Ref N57 |
Newton, Rev Robert | Ref N279 |
On 28th December 1840, he opened the former Christ Church, King Cross as a Wesleyan Methodist Chapel. This later became King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Newton, Robert | Ref N63 |
Newton's: Robert Newton & Company | Ref N520 |
When the partnership of Robert Newton and James Burrow ended in 1845, Newton stayed on at the Victoria Mill as Robert Newton & Company. In 1848, he moved to Leeds
Niagara | Ref N596 |
Nibble & Clink Dam, Luddenden | Ref N435 |
On 11th August 2004 – because of the condition of the dam and the recent torrential downpours – there were fears that the dam could burst, and a flood warning was issued to people living in the area
Niblett, Thomas Cockroft | Ref N369 |
He was a brush finisher [1881] / a brush maker [1891] / a brush finisher [1893].
In [Q1] 1864, he married (1) Ruth Foulds [1834-1873] in Halifax.
Ruth was born in Midgley
Child: Clara [1864-1943] who was a worsted twister [1881]
Ruth died 14th November 1873 (aged 39) and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1519] with her mother Mary Nicholl [1798-1876], her mother-in-law Grace Niblett [1807-1875] & sister-in-law Emily Niblett [1845-1882].
In [Q2] 1874, he married (2) Ruth Crossley [1840-1920] in Halifax.
Ruth was born 9th March 1840
Children:
They lived at 31 Grosvenor Terrace, Halifax [1881, 1893].
Living with them [in 1881] was sister Emily Niblett [1845-1882] (brush drawer).
Children John Thorpe, Mary Hannah & Amy emigrated to Australia. John Thorpe & Mary Hannah died there.
Thomas died 29th September 1893 (aged 56) and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 2224] with Thomas Crossley. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £60.
Probate was granted to his widow Ruth.
Ruth died in Llandudno [20th December 1920] (aged 80) and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 2224]. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £367 12/9d.
Probate was granted to unmarried daughter Mary Hannah.
See Samuel Hey
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Niblett, William | Ref N406 |
He was a coachman (domestic) [1881].
In [Q3] 1863, he married Jemima Leigh [1840-1909] in Rotherham.
Jemima was born in Liverpool
Children:
They lived at Birks Royd House, Southowram [1881].
William died 3rd August 1892 (aged 63).
Jemima died 13th October 1909 (aged 69).
Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-M12]
Nicall, Richard | Ref N263 |
Nichol, Alexander | Ref N521 |
Nichol, Eric Granville | Ref N103 |
Born in Soyland [14th June 1907].
On 3rd August 1936, he married (1) Florrie Broadbent [1904-1944].
On 10th November 1945, he married (2) Kathleen Clara Nichol in Blackpool.
Children:
He died 24th March 1970
Nichol, F. | Ref N156 |
Nichol, Henry | Ref N228 |
In January 1840, he was declared bankrupt
Nichol, Henry | Ref N8171 |
In [Q4] 1851, he married Ann Green [1829-1880] in Halifax.
Ann died 1st November 1880. Henry died 7th December 1884.
The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram
This & associated entries use material contributed by John Rushworth
Nichol, Isaac | Ref N273 |
He married Grace Mitchell [1770-1864].
Nichol, James | Ref N635 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Nichol, James Ernest | Ref N26 |
He was a shucker in a cotton mill [1911].
On 11th March 1903, he married Lucretia Hartley.
Child: Eric Granville
They lived at 22 Holly Royd, Soyland [1911]
Nichol, John | Ref N7700 |
He married Ellen.
Children:
Thomas Charles was buried at Mount Zion Chapel, Lightcliffe
Nichol, John | Ref N109 |
He was a master clogger [1871].
He married Hannah Jagger [1834-1???].
Children:
They lived at 1 Back Rhodes Street, Halifax (living with Hannah's parents) [1871]
Nichol, John | Ref N256 |
He was a joiner [1877, 1881, 1891].
In [Q3] 1877, he married Sarah Jane Ramsden [1857-1925] in Halifax.
Children:
The children were born in Halifax.
The family lived at
Sons Percy Ramsden, William Edwin & Thomas Henry died in World War I
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Nichol, John | Ref N93 |
He was educated at Holy Trinity School / employed at Halifax GPO.
He lived at 253 Huddersfield Road, Halifax.
During World War II, he enlisted [1940], and he served as a Sergeant with the 75th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.
He died 14th March 1945 (aged 28).
He was buried at Reichswald Forest War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 25 D 6].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
Nichol, Joseph | Ref N12 |
He married Hannah [1831-1899].
Hannah was born 23rd June 1831
Children:
Joseph died 4th August 1883 (aged 53).
Hannah died 19th August 1899 (aged 68).
Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1233]
Nichol, Percy Ramsden | Ref N368 |
Born in Soyland.
He was a member of the local Harriers' Association / a cotton spinner [1901] / a cotton piecer [1911]
In April 1915, he married Gladys Shaw [1893-19??] in Halifax.
Gladys was born in Halifax
They had no children.
The family lived at 33 Green Lane, West Vale.
During World War I, he enlisted [August 1914], and he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st Battalion attached to the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He went to the Dardanelles and took part in the Suvla Bay landing.
He had been missing since 9th August 1915, and presumed dead.
He was killed in action [17th August 1915].
The Halifax Courier [9th September 1916] reported his death with a photograph.
He is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Gallipoli [Grave Ref Panel 117-119].
His brothers William Edwin & Thomas Henry also died in the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Nichol, Thomas Henry | Ref N683 |
He was a cotton twiner [1911] / a cotton operative of Moor Hey, Sowood, Stainland [1912].
He married Emma Jagger at St Andrew's Church, Stainland.
Emma, of St Ann's Place, Stainland, was the daughter of Squire Jagger
Child: Ruby [b 1916]
They lived at Spring Head, Sowood, Stainland.
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.
He died 2nd September 1918 (aged 24).
The Halifax Courier [28th September 1918] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Queant Road Cemetery, Buissy, France [Grave Ref VIII E 25].
His brothers =Percy Ramsden & William Edwin also died in the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nichol, William Edwin | Ref N418 |
Born in Barkisland.
He lived with his family at Forest Hill, Sowood.
During World War I, he enlisted [25th June 1916] and served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).
He had been in France for almost 18 months when he died of wounds [27th April 1918] (aged 25).
His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th May & 1st June 1918].
He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 42-47 & 162].
His brothers Percy Ramsden & Thomas Henry also died in the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nicholas, Graham S. | Ref N108 |
Born in Gloucester.
He was articled to John Hall in Scarborough, and worked on the Gold Coast under the Colonial Board of Works, and in Gray's Inn, London before going into partnership with J. F. Walsh as Walsh & Nicholas [1899].
He was a Freemason / master of the Arts Lodge, London / President of the Halifax Arts & Crafts Society.
In [Q4] 1901, he married Minnie Pease in Christchurch, Hampshire.
Minnie came from Bedale
They had no children.
They lived at Bowers Hall, Barkisland [1905].
The partnership ended in 1910 when Nicholas moved to the south of England because of ill health.
He died at Lymington, Hampshire [12th September 1915].
He was cremated at Woking
Nicholas, John | Ref N780 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
Nicholas ware | Ref N242 |
a marbled effect with shades of blue predominating
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jayne Jackson
Nicholl ... | Ref N304 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nicholl's: Alexander & William Nicholl | Ref N405 |
In April 1841, the partnership was declared bankrupt
Nicholl & Binns | Ref N594 |
The partnership was dissolved in June 1852
Nicholl & Brown | Ref N739 |
They were at Cheapside, Halifax [1900] and Arcade Buildings, 24 Commercial Street, Halifax [1905].
A 1900 advertisement for the business announced
Why be Weak?
Weakness is a crime You can be Strong and Healthy by using SANDOW'S COMBINED DEVELOPER – one machine for the whole family One Price only 12/6d
SANDOW'S GRIP DUMBBELLS 5/- to 12/6d per pair
We keep Demonstrators to shew how to use our goods JOE NICHOL & J. T. BROWN, the only Practical Athletic Outfitters in this Country, CHEAPSIDE, HALIFAX |
At some point, they extended next door to occupy the premises at Arcade Buildings, 23 Commercial Street, Halifax, previously occupied by Davies & Balmforth
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Nicholl & Company | Ref N266 |
Partners included William Nicholl and John Ainley.
The partnership was dissolved in December 1873 when John Ainley was retiring
Nicholl & Riley | Ref N675 |
7 Salisbury Street, Sowerby New Road Prospect Terrace, Norland
Nicholl & Wood | Ref N538 |
They expanded into new premises in Dunkirk Lane, Halifax.
They later moved to Netherton Works, Holmfield.
In the 1970s, the business was taken over by Eva Industries of Manchester
Nicholl, Brown & Coyle | Ref N485 |
The business was originally Nicholl & Brown, athletic outfitters.
In 19??, they were joined by Frederick Coyle to become Nicholl, Brown & Coyle.
At some point, they extended next door to occupy the premises at 23 Commercial Street, Halifax, previously occupied by Davies & Balmforth.
The business closed in 19?? and is now a toy-shop
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Nicholl's: David Nicholl & Son | Ref N702 |
Nicholl's: Fanny Nicholl Charity | Ref N211 |
Nicholls, Albert Ernest | Ref N100 |
He was Manager and then co-owner of the Olympia Picture House [1911-1918] and the first Manager of the Todmorden Hippodrome [from 1919]. He was a partner in Hartleys Cinemas Limited. He retired to Cornwall in 1945.
On 26th July 1899, he married (1) Lily Richardson [1876-1928] from Eccles.
Children:
On 14th May 1930, he married (2) Mary Elizabeth Henry – aka Tizzy – from Todmorden.
Lily died 30th July 1928 (aged 52).
Albert Ernest died in Reading, Berkshire [31st December 1965].
Members of the family were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone
This & associated entries use material contributed by Carol
Nicholls, Rev Arthur Bell | Ref N129 |
In 1854, he married Charlotte Brontë.
He may be a model for Mr Macarthey in the novel Shirley.
Nicholls, Cyril | Ref N141 |
Born in Pendleton, Salford, Lancashire [7th February 1901].
He was the second and last Manager of the Todmorden Hippodrome under Hartleys Cinemas Limited [from around 1945 to 1955].
On 14th May 1930, he married Matilda (Tilly) Powell [1902-1994].
Child: Peter who was born and died on 7th July 1941
Cyril died in Eccles, Lancashire [8th September 1956] (aged 55).
Tilly died 4th September 1994 (aged 92).
Members of the family were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone
This & associated entries use material contributed by Carol
Nicholls, John | Ref N598 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Michael Bickley
Nicholls, Jonathan | Ref N715 |
Nicholls, Jonathan | Ref N549 |
He was a merchant.
He lived at Clough House within Huddersfield.
He married (1) Elizabeth [1732-1771].
Children:
He married (2) Sarah.
Child: 4. Sarah
Elizabeth died 20th May 1771. Jonathan died 4th April 1784.
There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church.
The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions
Nicholls, Dr Jonathan | Ref N550 |
Surgeon at Hipperholme.
There is a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church
Nicholls, Northend | Ref N835 |
Born in Elland. Baptised at Elland Parish Church [5th July 1737]
He was buried at Elland Parish Church [31st July 1818] (aged 81 years).
He owned property and land and left an estate valued at £600 his executor Phebe Greenwood
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Nichols, Alice | Ref N321 |
Nichols, Dr | Ref N350 |
Nichols, Richard | Ref N292 |
He married Unknown.
Children:
Nichols, Richard | Ref N290 |
Children:
Nichols, Samuel | Ref N243 |
Children:
Nichols, William | Ref N113 |
He committed suicide, drowning himself in the Lake at Crow Nest [28th June 1869] and was buried at Lightcliffe Old Church Graveyard.
More details can be found in the Some Lightcliffe Suicide Cases article on the People of interest in Lightcliffe Churchyard website
Nicholson ... | Ref N50 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nicholson & Company | Ref N510 |
Nicholson & Walker | Ref N473 |
Partners included Jonas / Joseph Nicholson and Thomas Walker.
Recorded in 1795
Nicholson & West Limited | Ref N104 |
Wholesale ironmongers and tool merchants at Northgate [1915] and Gaol Lane, Halifax [1936].
They manufactured products in their foundry.
Partners included Mr Nicholson and Henry West.
They merged Thomas Smith & Company to become Smith, Nicholson & West
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch & Sally West
Nicholson & Wilson | Ref N472 |
Partners included William Nicholson.
They were agents for The Leeds Mercury [1840s]
Nicholson's: F. H. Nicholson & Company | Ref N474 |
Around 1857, they built new premises at 25 Crown Street, Halifax.
In 1873, the business was acquired by Alexander Scott
Nicholson's: J. & J. Nicholson | Ref N476 |
Joseph left the firm and Jonas carried on alone until his death in 1808.
Joseph's son, John carried on the business.
In 1884, the business was acquired by W. C. Womersley
Nicholson's: William Nicholson & Sons | Ref N477 |
His sons, Jonas and Joseph – trading as J. & J. Nicholson – were 19th century printers, publishers, and booksellers with shops in Halifax, Wakefield, Bradford, and Oldham.
They were letterpress printers at 3 Cheapside, Halifax [1863]
After the death of Joseph's son, John, the business was sold to W. C. Womersley and later amalgamated with Stott Brothers Limited. The Nicholson firm was a competitor of William Milner, and the Nicholson's Cottager's Library was started to compete with Milner's Cottage Library
This & associated entries use material contributed by Benjamin Brundell
Nicklety Poultry Farm, Walsden | Ref N284 |
A small poultry farming business (day old chicks, growing pullets, eggs and table birds) operational between 1940 and 1965, owned and managed by the Fielden Brothers: Albert, Jeremy & Frank.
The farm covered about 12 acres adjacent to Nicklety House, stretching from Rake Head Barn Lane, uphill towards Height Houses and north across Foulclough Lane to Heys Barn.
The land has since reverted to pastureland
This & associated entries use material contributed by John Fielden
Nicklety, Walsden | Ref N94 |
Mid 18th century 3-storey house. It has weavers' windows.
At one time, it was divided into several dwellings, occupied by the Bottomley and Haigh families of Inchfield in Walsden.
In 1792, Jeremiah Bottomley of Inchfield, Walsden purchased the freehold on a parcel of land on the south side of the new road between Travis Bridge (now St Peter's Gate, Walsden) and Foulclough Pit Road, Inchfield Moor. The land was 24 yards by approximately 12 yards at Rakehead. He erected three dwelling houses on this land.
In 1807, Jeremiah sold the freehold to John Haigh of Pastureside, including the three dwellings. He paid £198 19/- for the land and houses. The land was named Nicklety.
When John Haigh died in 1831 he left the houses and other property at Nicklety to his sons John and Reuben to hold as tenants in common.
On 22nd August 1895, Nicklety was sold by the Haigh family by auction at the White Hart in Todmorden
Lot 2: 4 freehold cottages at Nicklety, Walsden, bought by Mr Jos. Holmes of Lanebottom for £100
It is now a single dwelling
See Nicklety Poultry Farm, Walsden
This & associated entries use material contributed by Linda Briggs
Nicoll's: J. Nicoll | Ref N126 |
Nield, Jonathan | Ref N450 |
He was an agent [1841] / a banker's clerk & insurance agent [1851].
On 9th October 1817, he married Sarah Stancliffe [1788-1873] at St Chad's Church, Rochdale.
Sarah was born in Barkisland
Children:
They lived at
Sarah died in Halifax [October 1873]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Angela Coulter
Nield, Jonathan | Ref N451 |
Born in Rochdale.
He was a banker [1871].
In [Q3] 1849, he married Ellen Frances Tweedale in Rochdale.
Ellen Frances was born in Rochdale
Children:
They lived at Dunster House, Manchester Road, Castleton, Rochdale [1871]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Angela Coulter
Night whisslers | Ref N117 |
a whizzing or whistling in the aire
and which is said to presage something extraordinary.
Heywood mentions the phenomenon in his diaries for March 1664
... there is another noyse heard in the aire, wch here they call night-whisslers, wch make a whizzing or whistling in the aire, as if it were a piece of timber thats caryed with violence through the aire, and some say they have seen it but very many haue heard it, tho it be rarely heard, and presage something more than ordinary, yet several haue heard this also this winter
He also mentions Gabriel Ratchetts and adds
tho I have never heard either of them
This & associated entries use material contributed by Kai Roberts
Nightingale, Rev Abel | Ref N91 |
Nightingale, John | Ref N415 |
Nightingale, John | Ref N324 |
He was a blacksmith [1871] / a blacksmith employing 1 boy [1881] / a blacksmith (self employed) [1891] / a blacksmith (employer) [1901].
John had several brief mentions in the local Todmorden papers for payment for work he did for the Council. He was described as Cornholme's local blacksmith.
After his death, the Todmorden & District News [23rd November 1906] reported
New iron entrance gates for Cornholme Parish Church had recently been erected and they were a standing memorial to a good old church family in the district.It was one of the last works undertaken by their lamented friend, Mr John Nightingale
In [Q4] 1870, he married Sarah Jane Bridge Tomlinson [1850-1927] in Bolton.
Sarah Jane was born in Tottington, near Bury, the daughter of William Tomlinson.Her family moved to Turton around 1861.
She was a spinner [1871]
Children:
The family lived at
John died at home [1st June 1906] (aged 57).
The Todmorden & District News [8th June 1906] reported his death.
Living with Sarah Jane [in 1921] were daughter Annie & family.
Sarah Jane died in Todmorden in 1927
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nightingale, John | Ref N255 |
Born in Cornholme.
He was a cotton weaver [1911].
He lived at 904 Jubilee Street, Portsmouth, Todmorden (with his widowed mother & his 2 youngest sisters) [1911].
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.
He died 26th February 1917.
The Todmorden & District News [16th March 1917] reported his death
Private John Nightingale, 1st 6th Lancashire Fusiliers, died of pneumonia on a troopship travelling from Egypt to France on the 26th of February, aged 21.The illness came on very suddenly. He was all right on the 25th.
He lived at Higher Jubilee Terrace, Portsmouth, and was formerly employed by Crabtree & Farrar's at Carrfield Mill
The Todmorden & District News [30th March 1917] published his photograph
Private John Nightingale died at sea of double pneumonia on the afternoon of the 26th February and was buried at sea
He is remembered on the Chatby Memorial, Egypt, and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley, Derrick Habergham & Glynn Helliwell
Nilton, E. | Ref N626 |
Nip Square Lock, Walsden | Ref N392 |
Nixon, John | Ref N555 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a member of Square Church PSA Society / a stuff presser / employed by the Bradford Dyers' Association at Washer Lane / employed by George Armitage & Sons at Walnut Street, Halifax.
He lived at 10 Eldon Place, Halifax.
During World War I, he enlisted with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [August 1916], then he served as a Rifleman with the 33rd Battalion London Regiment.
He went to France [January 1917], but was invalided home [August 1917], returning to France [June 1918].
He was killed in action by a trench mortar [5th October 1918] (aged 30).
The Halifax Courier [19th October 1918] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Kandahar Farm Cemetery, Heuvelland, Belgium [Grave Ref II G 38].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Providence Congregational Church, Elland, and on the Memorial at Square Church, Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Nixon, Matthias Chapman | Ref N712 |
He was a stuff presser.
In 1873, he married Elizabeth Bentley [1852-1937] in Leeds.
Elizabeth was born in Leeds
Children:
They lived at 13 Sterling Street, Halifax [1911]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Nixon, Reginald John | Ref N5020 |
In [Q2] 1860, a Reginald John Saye Nixon married Laura Louise Saunders in Halifax.Could this be the same man?
They lived at
No Conscription Fellowship | Ref N235 |
See Pals Battalion
No One | Ref N561 |
He lived as no one He died as no one Being buried as no one N & S |
Noah Dale Bridge, Heptonstall | Ref N725 |
Noah Dale, Colden | Ref N1 |
The upper part of the Colden valley.
Aka Nodale and Noddle.
There are many deserted farms in the area, left when the people moved away to work in the mills in the valley.
There was lead mining west of Noah Dale Dam here.
See Cross Clough, Noah Dale, Egypt, Colden, Lower Noah Dale and Noah Dale Water
This & associated entries use material contributed by Anne Kirker
Noah Dale Dam, Colden | Ref N436 |
A dam built at Noah Dale, Colden by James King and Gamaliel Sutcliffe around 1806.
There was lead mining west of the dam
Noah Dale Farm, Soyland | Ref N170 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Noah Dale Water | Ref N732 |
Noakes, John | Ref N81 |
Son of Arthur Wallace Bottomley.
He was educated at Shelf Council School and then Rishworth where he excelled in cross-country running, rugby and gymnastics, although he considered himself a failure as an academic.
He worked as an engine fitter with BOAC. He left to go to the Guildhall School of Music & Drama. He joined the Welsh Theatre Company.
Whilst doing repertory in Leicester, Biddy Baxter, producer of the BBC TV children's programme Blue Peter, spotted him and he became a presenter on the programme in 1966.
With his daredevil stunts – such as parachuting from 25,000ft and a two-man bob-sleigh run at St Moritz – he became one of the most popular presenters of the programme.
He is best remembered for his exhortation to the show's border collie: Get down, Shep. He left the show in 1978, although he carried on with a television career for several years with his own series.
In 1981, he left the business, and with his wife, Vicky, planned to sail round the world in their 45-ft boat Jonathan L. Seagull. The boat was wrecked in a storm in the Mediterranean, and they decided to settle in Majorca [1982].
He developed Alzheimer's disease.
He died at Hospital in Palma [28th May 2018].
His ashes were scattered, half in Majorca and half (from a firework rocket) over Rishworth School playing fields
Nobbs, George | Ref N219 |
He was a coal merchant's general carrier [1901] / a carter [1911] / a carter for W. Gill, mineral waters in Birds Royd, Rastrick [1921].
He married Ann Maria [1867-1???].
Ann Maria was born in Liversedge
Children:
The family lived at
Ann Maria died Q3 1934.
George died Q4 1943.
They both died in Halifax
Nobbs, Harry Clifford | Ref N5 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a part-timer newsboy [1911] / a relief railway porter with Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway [1921] / Mayor of Brighouse [1959-1960].
In February 1936, he was one of a number of people, victims of 2 Scholes youths charged with stealing from the Brighouse & Halifax area.
He ran a fish and chip shop at the bottom of Castle Avenue, Rastrick.
He lived at 10 Thornhill Road, Brighouse [1936].
He died in Leeds in 1974
This & associated entries use material contributed by Sheridan Fryer
Noble ... | Ref N30 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Noble & Briscombe | Ref N528 |
Noble & Sugden | Ref N605 |
Noble's: B. Noble & Company | Ref N524 |
Noble Fountains, Brighouse | Ref N434 |
Noble's: John Noble Limited | Ref N381 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch
Noble's: Soap Makers | Ref N753 |
Nodder, Frederick May | Ref N391 |
Born in Sheffield.
During World War I, he served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 48th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.
He died 14th August 1916 (aged 26).
He was buried at Dantzig Alley British Cemetery, Mametz, France [Grave Ref I C 18]
Nolan, Mrs | Ref N547 |
Nolson House, Barkisland | Ref N154 |
Aka Nelson House.
Mid to late 17th century U-plan house.
Owners and tenants have included
This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.
The property was divided into 3 dwellings.
It was renovated in the 1990s, and is now [2015] a single dwelling
This & associated entries use material contributed by Anne Kirker
Nonslip Stone Company | Ref N484 |
In December 1900, the company merged with Joseph Brooke & Sons to becomes Brooke's Limited.
See Newton Brooke
Nook Farm, Sowerby | Ref N214 |
The Nook, Sowerby Bridge | Ref N178 |
The 19th century blacksmith's shop here was demolished in 1957
The Nooke, Halifax | Ref N8001 |
in the west end or head of one street in Halifax called The Woolshops, and being the corner house dividing the way leading from the Church of Halifax to the Shambles, and into one back lane there called Petticote Lane
Noonan, Rev J. | Ref N147 |
Noone, James Joseph | Ref N568 |
Born in Widnes.
He was Secretary of the Halifax & District Schools' Athletic Association [1914] / a teacher at St Mary's Catholic School [1914].
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He was killed – shot by a sniper as he left the trenches at Doulieu [22nd April 1915] (aged 25).
He was one of the first local soldiers to be killed in the War.
He was buried at Rue-David Military Cemetery, Fleurbaix, France [Grave Ref I H 8].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.
His good friend and companion John Patrick Conroy was also killed in the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Noone, Michael | Ref N274 |
He was listed as innkeeper living at 23/25 Elland Road, Brighouse [1911].
He married Margaret Jane [1883-19??]
Margaret Jane was born in Moyallen, Galway
Children:
Norcliffe ... | Ref N529 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Norcliffe Farm, Southowram | Ref N668 |
Owners and tenants have included
The Farm (11 acres), plus 3 cottages (8, 10 & 12 Norcliffe Lane), were listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.
The buildings are now derelict.
The name is a corruption of north cliff. Compare with Sutcliffe
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles & John Rushworth
Norcliffe's: George Norcliffe & Son | Ref N480 |
Partners included George Norcliffe and Alexander Walker Norcliffe
Norcliffe's: R. & D. Norcliffe | Ref N481 |
His younger brother, David, became a partner around 1885.
In June 1906, it was announced that they were to build a new mill at Penny Hill, Stainland, near to the existing mill.
There was a fire at their mill on 29th July 1907.
During World War I, they produced material for army shirts, then woollen blankets, linsey and car upholstery fabric.
David left the business in 1915.
After Rowland's death [1921] his youngest son, Arthur, carried on the business. The business was continued by Arthur's sons – Norris Taylor, Leslie and Benjamin.
Norris and Leslie left the business in 1952 and Benjamin carried on as a sole trader until 1957 when he was joined by son-in-law Anthony Sargeant.
The business was finally run by Benjamin's granddaughter, Elizabeth.
The business was wound up in 2005.
The mill was sold to MCN Construction who developed the site into luxury apartments, following planning details and architectural work handled by Anthony Sargeant prior to the sale.
The original mill building and its chimney have been preserved
This & associated entries use material contributed by Hilary Norcliffe & David Sargeant
Norcotte, Rev William | Ref N58 |
Nord, Sarah | Ref N189 |
She was one of the children who came to the district and worked as a worsted spinner at Calvert's Mill at Wainstalls.
She lived with Amos Bentley [1891]
Norfolk, John | Ref N560 |
Born in Manningham.
He was a mason [1911] / employed by Arthur Foster, Bradford.
He lived with his mother and sister at 4 Hunger Hill, Halifax.
During World War I, he enlisted Northumberland Fusiliers, then he served as a Private with the 12th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.
He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Oppy Wood, Arras [3rd May 1917] (aged 34).
The Halifax Courier [7th July 1917] reported his death with a photograph.
He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 4 & 5], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Norfolk Lodge, Halifax | Ref N251 |
Norfolk, Wright | Ref N85 |
He was a Corporation labourer [1911].
Around 1875, he married Rebecca [1855-19??].
Rebecca was born in Bradford
Children:
They lived at
Wright died in Halifax [Q1 1917] (aged 62).
Son John died in World War I
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Norland | Ref N24 |
Norland Board of Guardians | Ref N502 |
Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Norland township have included
Norland Brass Band | Ref N144 |
a few young Norlander
residing in or near New Longley.
The first members of the Band included
Conductors have included
Other players and members of the Band have included
They competed in many local and national contests, including
They held their own band contests at Sowerby Croft [1885, 1886]. In the contest on 24th July 1886, 3,000 people attended when contest was won by Besses o' th' Barn Band.
A room at Butterworth End was used by the Band, then an empty house at Harper Royd. In 1905, a new Band Room was built.
They disbanded in 1937.
See Cold Acre Reservoir, Stainland
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Dick Spendlove
Norland Church | Ref N124 |
Norland Co-Op | Ref N291 |
It closed in the 1960s
Norland Co-operative Stores | Ref N666 |
The Norland Flyer | Ref N130 |
Norland Hall | Ref N356 |
A timber-framed house built at Norland around 1450.
A passage doorway was dated ITHT 1672 for Joseph Taylor who cased the house in stone around that time.
Owners and tenants have included
After being struck by lightning in April 1911, the hall fell into disrepair.
In 1914, the building was dismantled. There was a plan to rebuild it in Addington Park, Croydon. This came to naught.
On 12th August 1922, it was announced that the Hall was to be demolished and transferred to America. It was sold to William Randolph Hearst, the American newspaper tycoon and shipped to the USA in 812 crates for re-erection on his California estate. On 8th September 1922, the first consignment was shipped to America.
The plan collapsed when Hearst learned that he had to pay import tax on the stone, and the cargo rotted on the dockside for many years and eventually some of the stones were used to build a Presbyterian chapel in San Simeon, California [1967].
The present Norland Hall building is the result of restoration in the 1960s.
This is discussed in the books Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.
See Lower Spark House, Norland, Norland Lower Hall and Norland Upper Hall
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Cant
The Norland Halls | Ref N5860 |
The following are recorded
Question: Please email me if you can help to clarify this situation
Norland Holiday Home | Ref N138 |
The purpose-built home opened on 26th June 1937 to provide two weeks' holiday and fresh air to the poor children of Halifax. It accommodated 24 boys & girls.
During World War II, the holiday home was used for evacuees, mainly from Bradford. The home had its own zoo, with rabbits and guinea pigs.
It closed in 1979. The money from the sale of the property was used to set up a fund which offered grants to enable children from less well-off homes to take holidays.
It has been converted into 2 dwellings.
See East Longley Farm, Norland and Gillian Ida Walker
This & associated entries use material contributed by Keith Marsden
Norland, John of | Ref N51 |
Norland Local History Society | Ref N743 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Dick Spendlove
Norland Lower Hall | Ref N69 |
Built in 1634 by George Taylor.
Dated 1634 G E T for George and Elizabeth Taylor.
Owners and tenants have included
The arms of the Dyers' Guild can be seen over the doorway.
A frieze reads:
FEARE GOD HON OUR THE KINGE
and a plaster overmantel bears the Royal Arms and the wording
DIEU ET MON DROIT 1635 T G E
There is a shop at the right of the building.
Around 1900, the hall was divided into three separate dwellings – the middle one was the village Post Office until the 1950s, when it reverted to a dwelling.
This is discussed in the books Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax.
See Norland Upper Hall and Norland Hall
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Cant
Norland, Manor of | Ref N149 |
Norland Memorial Garden | Ref N3370 |
Norland Moor | Ref N120 |
On 22nd June 1834, there was a meeting of mill workers who had been locked out on account of their membership of the trades union.
On 6th October 1932, Norland Parish Council decided to buy the Moor by public subscription. More than £400 was raised. The moor was bought for £250 after a public appeal.
There are a number of holes on the moor which have been cordoned off with barbed wire. Below ground, they are fitted out with basic stone tables and seats. These were built in the 1950s by the Royal Observer Corps and were to be used in the event of nuclear attacks.
In 1948, the War Department announced that it wanted to take over 110 acres of the moor for tank exercises, although it promised that there would be no live ammunition fired. West Riding County Council defeated the plan.
See Heather and Royal Observer Corps Observation Post
This & associated entries use material contributed by Beryl Connell & Jonathan Lumb
Norland Moor Farm | Ref N723 |
Dyeing was carried on here and there was a chemical works here
Norland Old Hall | Ref N793 |
Norland Overseers of the Poor | Ref N9620 |
Norland Parish Council | Ref N697 |
On 6th October 1932, the Council decided to buy Norland Moor
Norland pinfold | Ref N9 |
Norland Post Office | Ref N492 |
Around 1900, Norland Lower Hall was divided into three separate dwellings. The middle one was the village Post Office until the 1950s, when it reverted to a dwelling.
For many years, the sub-post office in the village was run from the foot of the stairs of a house at West Field, Norland. When I lived at Thorny Bank [1970s-1984], Mrs Scott was in charge of the business
Norland Smallpox Hospital | Ref N131 |
Norland Stocks | Ref N708 |
Around 1904, they were restored by the Council, under the supervision of Jabez Whitaker.
They now stand inside the pinfold
This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country
Norland Stream | Ref N433 |
Norland Surveyor of the Highways | Ref N4100 |
Norland Upper Hall | Ref N135 |
Stood on Norland Town Road, near the Blue Ball
Timber-framed house cased in stone around 1690 by John Taylor, of Norland Hall, for his younger son John.
It was dated IBT 1690 for John and Betty Taylor.
2 cannon balls from the Civil War were found within the walls of the building.
Owners and tenants have included
The Hall was demolished in the 1970s.
Upper Old Hall Farm stands on the site.
This is discussed in the book The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.
See Lower Spark House, Norland and Norland Lower Hall
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Cant & Anne Kirker
Norland village shop | Ref N361 |
Norland Workhouse | Ref N127 |
Norland Working Men's Club | Ref N535 |
Norman, Ambrose | Ref N358 |
In [Q3] 1892, he (possibly) married Lily Robinson in Barnsley.
Ambrose died 28th April 1946 (aged 73).
Ambrose was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NL-B25] Lily's burial place is not known
Normanton's | Ref N16 |
Normanton ... | Ref N23 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Normanton Brothers | Ref N299 |
Recorded in 1921, when they were at Asquith Bottom Mills, Sowerby Bridge
Normanton Farm, Sowerby | Ref N238 |
Normanton's: Jeremiah Normanton & Son | Ref N465 |
Normanton's: John Normanton & Sons | Ref N466 |
Established by John Normanton.
Partners included Charlton Normanton
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Normington ... | Ref N257 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Normington's: E. & O. Normington | Ref N464 |
Partners (possibly) included brothers Ernest Normington and Oliver Normington
Normington, Herbert | Ref N308 |
Normington's: Paul Normington & Company | Ref N486 |
Stone quarrier with business at Blue Ball Quarry, Rastrick [1896], Grantham Quarry, Rastrick [1896], and Five Acre Quarry, Elland [1905]
Norminton, Benjamin | Ref N777 |
Norminton, Crossland | Ref N345 |
Born in Elland.
He was a quarryman [1887].
On 28th May 1887, he married Martha Ann Marshall [1866-1923] in Halifax.
Martha Ann was born in Elland
Children:
The children were born in Elland.
The family lived at 57 Church Lane, Elland, [1901, 1911, 1916]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Norminton, Joseph | Ref N272 |
Norminton, Joseph | Ref N181 |
Norminton, Lawrence | Ref N584 |
During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He died 25th November 1917 (aged 22).
He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 6 & 7], on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Rastrick War Memorial
Norminton, Mark | Ref N341 |
Born in Elland.
He was a member of St Michael's Mission Church, Elland / a worsted spinner [1911] / a fettler / employed by Thomas Helm & Sons at Spout Mills, Rastrick.
During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.
He was wounded by shrapnel [5th August 1916] whilst digging a trench on the Somme.
He died of wounds [15th August 1916].
The Halifax Courier [9th September 1916] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Dernancourt Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I C 16].
He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland.
A memorial service was held at St Michael's Mission Church, Elland [10th September 1916]
One of his brothers was serving with the A. S. C. in France, and their cousin William Haley Newport died in the War
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley, Derrick Habergham & Glynn Helliwell
Norris ... | Ref N551 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Norris & Foster | Ref N208 |
Partners included Henry Alexander Norris and Adam Crossfield Foster.
Recorded in July 1868 at Crossley Street, Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Jeffrey Knowles
Norris & Norris | Ref N217 |
Recorded in May 1847 at Westgate, Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Norris, Foster & England | Ref N523 |
Partners included Henry Alexander Norris, Adam Crossfield Foster, Ronald Crossfield Foster, and Thomas England.
Recorded in 1873, when they were solicitors in the case of Walshaw vs Walshaw.
In 1918, an oblituary notice for Ronald Crossfield Foster said that
the firm was now carried on by James Clarkson
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Jeffrey Knowles
Norris's: William John Norris & Brothers | Ref N522 |
Partners included William John Norris
Norrish, George | Ref N319 |
Son of John Norrish, warehouseman.
Born in Callington, Cornwall.
He was a fustian cutter of Commercial Street, Wadsworth [1887] / a baker [1891] / a fustian cutter [1901]
In 1887, he married Betty Walton [1866-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.
Betty was born in Heptonstall, the daughter of Nathaniel Walton, labourer
Children:
They lived at
Living with them [in 1891] was sister-in-law Elizabeth Walton [b 1875] (fustian tailoress)
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Norrish, Herbert | Ref N320 |
Born 10th January 1891.
He was a member of Foster Lane Methodist Church, Hebden Bridge / a railway goods porter [1911] / employed by Herbert Wood, broker, Crown Street, Hebden Bridge / On the 9th Feb 1915 he enlisted for service and his home address was 13 Pleasant View, Hebden Bridge, he gave his occupation as a Labourer.
On 17th April 1909, he married Mary Ann Hill [1861-1922] at Halifax Parish Church.
Mary Ann was born in Barnsley
Child: Phyllis [1910-1994] who married Harry C. Redman
They lived at
During World War I, he enlisted [9th February 1915] and served as a Private with the 12th Battalion Royal Scots.
He died 2nd November 1915.
He was buried on the battlefield at Hulluch by the Germans.
The Halifax Courier [19th February 1916] reported his death with a photograph.
He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 11]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Glynn Helliwell
Nortcliffe, David | Ref N285 |
His published works include
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Nortcliffe
Nortcliffe, Frederick William | Ref N182 |
Annie died 6th June 1924 (aged 43).
In [Q1] 1926, he married (2) Eleanor (Nellie) Crowther [1880-1946] in Halifax.
Nellie died 21st March 1946 (aged 66).
Frederick William died 21st January 1953 (aged 73).
Nortcliffe, James | Ref N588 |
North, Albert | Ref N648 |
North, Allan | Ref N736 |
He was employed by John Briggs & Sons.
He married Mavis.
Child: child
They lived at 11A Wakefield Road, Copley, Halifax.
During World War II, he enlisted [1939] and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders.
He was killed in Burma [5th May 1944] (aged 25).
He is remembered on the Rangoon Memorial, Burma [Grave Ref 18], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
North's: Allen North & Company | Ref N511 |
North & South Junction Railway | Ref N461 |
North, Benjamin | Ref N205 |
Son of Joseph North. He lived at Strawberry Cottage, Norwood Green
This & associated entries use material contributed by Mary Twentyman
North Bridge Baths, Halifax | Ref N459 |
North Bridge Coal Company | Ref N470 |
North Bridge Fountain, Halifax | Ref N644 |
North Bridge, Halifax | Ref N78 |
There have been other bridges over the Brook in the same area, including Bowling Dyke Bridge, Lee Bridge and Shakehand Brig.
See Cross Hills, North Bridge Baths, North Bridge Leisure Centre, North Bridge Station and Pine Apple, Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Howes
North Bridge Leisure Centre | Ref N421 |
When the site of the former North Bridge railway station and sidings were cleared in 1973, it was a favoured site for a leisure centre.
In 1969, there was a suggestion by architect student David Brierley that a museum – with a theatre, a sports hall, a workshop, a restaurant and an art gallery – and a complex to include an hotel, a conference centre, a bus station, a railway station extension – be built on the site of the disused goods yard. This came to naught.
The go-ahead was given by 1979 and the centre was opened in October 1981 by footballer Jack Charlton
North Bridge Post Office | Ref N602 |
North Bridge Railway Station | Ref N460 |
North Bridge had to be rebuilt higher to allow trains to pass underneath
Considerable property had to be demolished for construction of a new ¼ mile long viaduct which linked the station to Halifax Old Station.
Between 1890 and 1955, there was a service to Holmfield where it joined the Halifax & Ovenden Junction Railway.
The station closed to passengers on 23rd May 1955.
The large goods yard was used by the Great Northern Railway and the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway companies. In 1905, many local companies had a presence at the station John Charnock & Sons, Halifax Coal Society Limited, Hartley, Kaye & Company, W. H. Kaye & Company, Oates & Green Limited, William Pogson and Henry Summerscales & Son.
North Bridge Tunnel ran under the main line and into Crossley's mills at Dean Clough.
The station closed in 1964, and was demolished in 1974.
Passenger traffic ended in 1925.
The station closed on 23rd May 1955, and the passenger service from Halifax to Queensbury ended.
The station was demolished in 1960, and became a possible site for the leisure centre which opened in October 1981.
North Bridge Leisure Centre occupies a part of the old goods yard and more recently, a Sainsbury's supermarket with car park and filling station occupied the rest of the site.
See Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch, Benjamin Brundell, Darrell Prest & Stephen Prior
North Bridge Railway Tunnel | Ref N800 |
Traces of the turntable and weighbridge are still to be seen.
This & associated entries use material contributed by Benjamin Brundell
North Bridge Restaurant, Halifax | Ref N667 |
North Bridge Toll Bar | Ref N73 |
North Bridge Tram Accident [1906] | Ref N97 |
The driver was dismissed and a strike ensued
North Cut, Brighouse | Ref N401 |
See Anchor Pit Flood Lock, Brighouse and Ganny Lock, Brighouse
North Dean | Ref N48 |
North Dean House, West Vale | Ref N6580 |
Owners and tenants have included
North Dean Lodge, West Vale | Ref N427 |
Stands behind Clay House.
It was accommodation for the person charged with overseeing North Dean Woods
This & associated entries use material contributed by Les Forester
North Dean Nature Trail | Ref N33 |
More information: Telephone: 01422-393233
Question: Is there a website with more up-to-date information?
North Dean Pleasure Grounds | Ref N407 |
North Dean Railway Bridge | Ref N176 |
North Dean Railway Station | Ref N462 |
The route of the railway by-passed Halifax, and passengers and goods had to depart and arrive at Sowerby Bridge or Elland.
North Dean Station opened on 1st July 1844.
In July 1844, Halifax Town station opened at Shaw Syke for the single-track branch line from North Dean This branch was constructed by Thomson & Company of Liverpool and was then the only railway into Halifax. The line is a little over 1 mile long Trains passing between Halifax and Huddersfield, frequently had to wait at one end or the other.
The gradient from North Dean to Dry Clough is around 1 in 47 and trains were often unable to make it up to Dry Clough and had to run back to Elland Station.
Several people were injured in an accident here in 1865.
On 23rd October 1869, the single line, was opened as a double one.
On 4th August 1881, a railway worker was killed at the station as he was passing between 2 waggons. At the time, Haigh Wood, was station master at North Dean Station, and Thomas Mann, was stationmaster at West Vale Station and a witness to the accident.
The line closed to passengers in 1917, and to freight in 1930.
Stationmasters at the Station have included
A man was killed at the station on 14th March 1885.
On 16th May 1885, North Dean station was renamed Greetland Station.
See James Cockroft, Frederick Geary, North Dean to Stainland line, Miss Selina Porter and Stainland
This & associated entries use material contributed by Elizabeth Fodden Gordon, Cedric Rowland & Suzanne Wille
North Dean to Stainland line | Ref N766 |
See Thomas Challoner, Greetland Viaduct, Holywell Green Viaduct and Stainland Viaduct
North Dean Toll Gate | Ref N151 |
Toll gate which stood on Stainland Road, on the approach to West Vale, just beyond a bridge over the Calder.
It was built around 1842 by the Salterhebble, Stainland and Sowerby Bridge Turnpike Trust under an Act of Parliament passed in 1824.
It ceased to collect tolls in 1870.
From the 1940s, it was the headquarters of the Halifax and District Youth Hostels Association. It was demolished in 1968
North Dean Wood Charity | Ref N539 |
the very many aged and infirm and other poor persons of Elland-cum-Greetland
In 1757, Sir George Savile, the lord of the manor, was approached with a proposal that North Dean Woods – an area of woodland to the north of Greetland which was part of the common land of the manor – be given over to a charity that would sell rights to the harvest of the woodland and use the money for the benefit of the poor. The income would also reduce the Poor Rate which had to be paid by the parish. There were 18 trustees of the Charity and meetings were held at the Rose and Crown inn, in vestry of Elland Parish Church and latterly, in the Council Offices. Signatories to the 1757 deed, and Trustees included
The Charity is still in existence and leases the woods to Calderdale Council who provide public access to the woods as an amenity.
See North Dean Lodge
This & associated entries use material contributed by Les Forester
North Dean Woods, Greetland | Ref N222 |
In 1866, fires from the sparks of the steam trains on the Leeds & Manchester Railway caused estimated £240 worth of damage.
See Maple Dean Clough, North Dean Nature Trail, North Dean Pleasure Grounds, North Dean Wood Charity and Captain Spencer
North Division | Ref N559 |
In 1867, the West Riding was divided into 3 divisions – North, South and East – each returning 2 MPs.
In 1885, the North Division of the West Riding was divided into 5 constituencies – including the Sowerby Division – each returning 1 MP.
Lord Frederick Cavendish represented the North Division from 1865.
North's Eating House | Ref N5870 |
Janet Currie worked here [1865]
North Gate End, Heptonstall | Ref N165 |
North, George Edward | Ref N47 |
He was a thick wire drawer [1901].
In [Q4] 1899, he married Annie Hoyle [1858-19??].
Children:
They lived at 8 Haugh Shaw Road, Scarborough Street, Halifax [1901]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
North Halifax | Ref N719 |
North, Herbert | Ref N110 |
He was a woollen piecer [1911] / worked in Greetland.
During World War I, he served as a Driver with the 234th Field Company Royal Engineers.
He died of wounds [31st July 1917] (aged 21).
The Halifax Courier [25th August 1917] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Duhallow A.D.S. Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I A 46].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
North Hollingworth Farm, Walsden | Ref N87 |
Late 17th century farm.
Owners and tenants have included
North House, Elland | Ref N268 |
Owners and tenants have included
North Howcans, Ovenden | Ref N224 |
North Ive House, Luddenden | Ref N557 |
Edward Murgatroyd's family lived in the North and Henry Sutcliffe Murgatroyd's family in the South.
Owners and tenants have included
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Knight & Janet Quinlan
North, J. | Ref N590 |
In May 1855, he was declared bankrupt
North, James | Ref N814 |
North, Joe | Ref N216 |
Born in Huddersfield.
He was a coach painter [1891] / a carriage painter [1901] / a coach painter [1911].
In 1888, he married Lucy Annie Wood [1869-19??] in Huddersfield.
Children:
They lived at
Living with them [in 1901] was Joe's mother Agnes
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
North, Joseph | Ref N203 |
In 18??, he married (1) Elizabeth Hodgson [17??-184?].
Children:
In 1847, he married (2) Judy Jowett
This & associated entries use material contributed by Mary Twentyman
North, Judy | Ref N49 |
Her cottage was near to Horse Close Bridge and is now demolished.
She married 3 times: Joseph Barraclough in 1819, Isaac Jowett in 1833, and became the second wife of Joseph North in 1847. She also lived with Amos Kellett
This & associated entries use material contributed by Mary Twentyman
North, Marjoribanks Keppel | Ref N200 |
He was an engineer / involved in the construction of the railway in Argentina
On 19th July 1905, he married Edith Beatrice Armytage at Hartshead Church.
Children:
They lived in Buckinghamshire
North Midgelden Farm, Todmorden | Ref N729 |
A nearby barn is also listed
North, Mr | Ref N233 |
He married Agnes [1842-19??]
Agnes was born in Scotland
They lived at 1 Beaumont Street, Huddersfield [1891].
Living with the widowed Agnes [in 1891] was son Joe & family
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
North, Oliver | Ref N198 |
Born in Almondbury.
He was a French polisher [1901].
In [Q2] 1900, he married Clara Gerke in Halifax.
Child: John [b 1901]
The family lived at
Around 1907, Clara, Oliver & family emigrated to New York with her father & siblings
This & associated entries use material contributed by Sandra Mills
North Parade Band, Halifax | Ref N352 |
North Park House, Halifax | Ref N86 |
Recorded on maps published in 1835.
Owners and tenants have included
In 19??, it became part of the Pennine Insurance office complex. When the company left in 19??, the buildings fell into disrepair.
In 2006, the property was demolished to make way for new apartments
This & associated entries use material contributed by Ivan Birch
North Scaitcliffe Farm, Todmorden | Ref N4750 |
North Scausby Farm, Bradshaw | Ref N726 |
Dated 17 S D D 40
North, Tom | Ref N115 |
During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Cameronian (Scottish Rifles).
He died 10th March 1915.
He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 15 & 16], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at United Reformed Church, Carlton Street
North View, Todmorden | Ref N67 |
One is now occupied by Todmorden Working Men's Club
North Wales Granite Company Limited | Ref N483 |
North Ward Brass Band, Halifax | Ref N772 |
North Ward, Halifax | Ref N610 |
Recorded in 1866.
See James Bairstow / Michael Booth / John Bunney / John Dyson Hutchinson / William Regan / George Emmett Wright Robinson / Fred Sharp / Frederick Smith / Walter C. F. Smith / Benjamin Wood
North Well, Heptonstall | Ref N244 |
North, William | Ref N204 |
He was interested in landscape gardening and ornithology
This & associated entries use material contributed by Mary Twentyman
Northend ... | Ref N3 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Northende, Daniel | Ref N293 |
He married Unknown.
Child: Mary
Northende, John | Ref N128 |
Son of Robert Northende, and brother of Edward Hanson.
Owned Field House, Shibden, Salterlea, Shibden and Fold, Shibden
Northende, Robert | Ref N169 |
Son of Richard Northend.
He married Emmotta or Emma.
Children:
The Northern Ballet Theatre Company | Ref N388 |
In 1995, the company moved to purpose-built premises in Leeds.
Northern, Dr Benjamin | Ref N671 |
Northern Broadsides | Ref N363 |
The company has appeared around the world performing Shakespeare and classical texts. The company have produced many Shakespeare plays with Yorkshire accents. Rutter believes that this more accurately reflects Elizabethan English than do modern accents.
In 2000, the company presented the first production of Ted Hughes's play Alcestis.
In 2009, the company's production of Othello starred Lenny Henry in his first professional acting rôle in a Shakespeare play
Northern Carpet Trades Union | Ref N717 |
The Northern Coal & Lime Company | Ref N488 |
Northern Counties Amalgamated Society of Weavers | Ref N536 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
Northern Counties Discount Company, Halifax | Ref N831 |
The Northern Electric Wire Company | Ref N514 |
They were at Sedburgh Mills, Halifax [1905, 1921]
The Northern Engineering Company Limited | Ref N503 |
On 24th September 1902, fire at their Parkinson Lane works caused £10,000 worth of damage.
They were absorbed by John Stirk & Sons Limited.
They were bought out by Hartley & Sugden [around 1909]
Northern, Dr John | Ref N378 |
He was at Aked's Road, Halifax [1816].
He married Unknown.
Children:
The Northern Star | Ref N543 |
It was proscribed by the British government. At one time, the circulation of the paper was said to be 60,000 per week.
It ceased publication in April 1852 when it merged with The Friend of the People to become The Star of Freedom. This ceased publication in December 1852
The Northern Theatres Company Limited | Ref N575 |
The company's registered offices were at Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Chambers, Halifax
Northfield | Ref N27 |
Others were Blackledge-Ing, Hall-Ing, Sydel-Ing, Southfield, Netherfield
This & associated entries use material contributed by John Ogden
Northfield, Heptonstall | Ref N59 |
Northfieldyate, Northowram | Ref N322 |
Northgate Building, Halifax | Ref N722 |
This was a large 4-storey building. Erected in the 1890s.
The building was demolished for redevelopment in 1973. The Bus Station now stands on the site
Question: Does anyone know if the building had a name?
Northgate End Band of Hope | Ref N802 |
James Whitehead was President [1896]
See Charles E. Dean
Northgate End Book Society | Ref N804 |
Northgate End Library | Ref N805 |
The first books were recorded as
Northgate End Mutual Improvement Society | Ref N803 |
Northgate End Orchestral Society | Ref N389 |
Established in 1882 by the Elocution Society of Northgate End Chapel.
A junior section is mentioned in the records.
In 1894, it amalgamated with the Halifax Philharmonic Society.
See John Priestley
Northgate, Halifax | Ref N250 |
Northgate Hall, Halifax | Ref N396 |
The foundation stone was laid by Anne Lister and Ann Walker on 22nd September 1835. A time capsule – containing coins and an inscribed lead scroll – was buried beneath the stone.
Anne's journals for 26th September 1835 record
The coins of the king's reign – a sovereign, half-sovereign, half-crown, shilling, and six-pence (could not get a seven-shilling piece, very scarce. Swanns, the bakers in York, had only seen two of William IV seven-shilling pieces) - were put in a large-mouthed green glass bottle; also an inscription engraved on sheet-lead and rolled up tight. The cork was dipped in tar, then put into the neck of the bottle and covered over with coarse red wax. It should have been hermetically sealed, but Messrs Harper and Husband could not get it done, had no blow-pipe
This was rediscovered in 1959 and was (said to be) in Bankfield Museum.
The building was the Saloon to the Northgate Hotel, and was intended to provide accommodation for
routs, dances and similar polite gatherings
It was later used as Temperance Hall [1860], Cinema de Luxe, Halifax, and Theatre de Luxe
This & associated entries use material contributed by Les Piggin
Northgate House, Halifax | Ref N114 |
It was a part of the estate of the Lister family of Shibden Hall. Joseph Lister lived here.
On the death of Joseph's widow Mary in February 1822, the property became vacant and passed to James Lister.
From 1822, Marian and Jeremy Lister lived there as James's tenants.
On James's death in 1826, the property passed to Anne Lister.
In 1828, Watson Samuel Scatcherd leased the house.
In 1835, after Scatcherd's death, John Harper converted the building into
a princely hotel
the Northgate Hotel.
Joseph Rushworth was recorded here [1841].
The Casino was built next door
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Glover
Northgate House, Halifax | Ref N34 |
In July 2008, it was announced that the Central Library facilities and Northgate House would be closed and the land sold for retail development.
Like many Calderdale Council decisions, this did not happen, and it was decided to convert the whole site to a Sixth Form College. In 2018, the buildings were refurbished / redeveloped
Northgate House, Halifax | Ref N838 |
They had printing works in an existing building on Winding Road, which had been previously occupied by Fawcett Greenwood & Company
This & associated entries use material contributed by June Paxton-White
Northgate House, Heptonstall | Ref N784 |
Northgate robot | Ref N696 |
Question: Can anyone tell me anything?
Northgate Turkish Baths, Halifax | Ref N456 |
Northowram | Ref N35 |
See Ouram, Shibden Brook and Southowram
Northowram & Shelf Ward, Halifax | Ref N611 |
Northowram Board of Guardians | Ref N573 |
Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Northowram township have included
Northowram Club | Ref N490 |
Northowram Co-Op | Ref N608 |
Northowram Community Centre | Ref N742 |
Northowram constables | Ref N571 |
See Bull Rent
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Northowram Cricket Club | Ref N17 |
Northowram Hall | Ref N70 |
The property was originally known as Whithill.
See Northowram Hospital and Northowram Isolation Hospital
This & associated entries use material contributed by Carole Edwards Caruso, David Nortcliffe & Wendy Parker
Northowram Hall bath house | Ref N458 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Carole Edwards Caruso & David Nortcliffe
Northowram Historical Society | Ref N8170 |
See A History of Northowram Township from 1800
This & associated entries use material contributed by Mike Beecham
Northowram Hospital | Ref N271 |
The hospital closed in 199? and houses are to be built on the site.
This & associated entries use material contributed by David Greenwood
Northowram House | Ref N258 |
Mrs Bridget Mellen owned the property.
Oliver Heywood lived here. Mrs Mellen attempted to evict him by raising the rent.
Mrs Mellen, subsequently sold Northowram House to her nephew, Benjamin Boys. In March 1672, Heywood's friend, Jonathan Priestley bought the House on Heywood's account for 100 marks, or £67 13/4d.
Heywood returned to live in the house on 8th May 1672. On the 4th previously he received his licence to preach here.
The doorstone was inscribed
H O A EBENEZER 1677
for Oliver and Abigail Heywood. The inscription was carved by Daniel Sharp. The stone was subsequently moved to a position over the window.
Heywood's mother died here. His 2 sons were born here. Heywood died here
Northowram Hunt | Ref N236 |
Northowram Isolation Hospital | Ref N576 |
Opened on 7th July 1934 by Sir E. Hilton Young, Minister of Health. The first patients were admitted on 24th September 1934.
It became Northowram Hospital
Northowram Liberal Club | Ref N533 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
Northowram Library | Ref N276 |
Northowram Local Board | Ref N164 |
Northowram, Manor of | Ref N158 |
Northowram Mechanics' Institution | Ref N1299 |
A Mechanics' Institute was founded in April 1852 by people associated with Heywood's Chapel, including Charles Holt.
They held their early meetings over a shed and stables opposite the Stocks Arms.
Around 1855, they held their evening classes in the Church School.
On 3rd June 1874, the corner stone was laid for a new building on land given by Abraham Briggs Foster of Northowram Hall.
In October 1875, classes began at the new building. They had a library.
The Institute was formally opened on 9th July 1877.
The building was later used as a Board School when the scholars and staff moved from Heywood's School. It was then used as the Institute in the evenings.
By 1891, it was used solely as a school.
In 1995, it was converted into flats
Northowram Overseers of the Poor | Ref N8000 |
Northowram Parish Church | Ref N249 |
Northowram Police Station | Ref N489 |
Northowram Post Office | Ref N517 |
Recorded in 1861. It was then run by Jacob Houldsworth, stone merchant.
Recorded in 1874. It was then at the same address as the business run by Harriet Holdsworth, grocer.
Recorded in 1905 at 40 Towngate. It was then at the same address as the business run by Miss Frances Appleyard, grocer
Northowram Recreation Ground | Ref N411 |
Northowram School Board | Ref N186 |
See Michael Booth, Joseph Crowther, Northowram Board School, Northowram Free School, Northowram Infants' School, Salterlee Board School, Northowram and William Wilson
Northowram Stocks | Ref N190 |
Northowram Subscription Band | Ref N210 |
In July 1873, they took part in a contest promoted by North Ward Brass Band.
Disbanded in 1???
Northowram Surveyor of the Highways | Ref N5270 |
Northowram Tannery Limited | Ref N542 |
Northowram Urban District Council | Ref N155 |
Northowram Ward, Halifax | Ref N612 |
See Jonas W. Crossland, Charles Parker, John Radcliffe, William Henry Spence and James Tattersall
Northowram Workhouse | Ref N185 |
Northrop, Arthur Willie | Ref N119 |
In [Q3] 1915, he married Elizabeth Hannah Yates [1885-1967] in Halifax.
Children:
They lived at Mount Pellon, Halifax.
Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham & Glynn Helliwell
Northrop, Douglas | Ref N738 |
He was a member of St Augustine's Church, Pellon & Boy Scouts / educated at Halifax Modern School.
He lived at 53 Hartley Street, Battinson Road, Halifax.
During World War II, he served as a Sapper with the Royal Engineers.
He died 14th April 1941 (aged 21).
He was buried at Christ Church, Pellon with his grandparents Mary Hannah & William Northrop [North Sec E 15].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Augustine's Church, Pellon
Northrop, Fred | Ref N449 |
In [Q1] 1876, he married Kezia Bailey [1857-1910] in Bradford.
Children:
Fred died 16th June 1905 (aged 49).
Kezia took over at the Crown [1905, 1910].
Kezia died 10th April 1910 (aged 53).
Daughter Edna took over at the Crown [1910, 1912].
Members of the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell
Northrop, Joseph | Ref N237 |
He married Mary [1811-1890].
Mary was born in Halifax
Children:
They lived at
Mary was a widow by 1875.
Mary died 1st March 1890 (aged 79).
Mary & Phoebe were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 2345]
Northrop, William | Ref N196 |
In [Q3] 1879, he married Mary Hannah Dawtry [1851-1918] in Halifax.
They lived at 53 Hartley Street, Battinson Road, Halifax [1915, 1918].
William died 11th May 1915 (aged 65).
Mary Hannah died 1st February 1918 (aged 67).
The couple were buried at Christ Church, Pellon [E 15]; their grandson Douglas Northrop is buried with them
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Northumberland House, Halifax | Ref N740 |
Recorded on 12th January 1861, when an advertisement in the Halifax Guardian announced
Sale by Auction on 16th January 1861 of the Freehold Mansion
NORTHUMBERLAND HOUSE, Horton Street, Halifax, fronting onto Horton
Street with Union Street at the side.
It contains Excellent cellars, Dining Room, Drawing Room, Breakfast Room, two large Kitchens and Scullery on the ground floor. Nine well arranged bedrooms over, several of which with Hot & Cold water, Gardens, Shrubbery, Yard and two-stalled Stable, Cow House. Two Carriage Houses, Saddle Room and other conveniences, now occupied by John Whitworth, Esq |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Anne Kirker & Jeffrey Knowles
Northwell Cottage, Heptonstall | Ref N721 |
Northwells, Heptonstall | Ref N72 |
Norton, Albert James | Ref N227 |
Born in Hereford.
He was a hooper at a bobbin mill living in lodgings at 655 Robertshaw Terrace, Todmorden [1901] / a dyer living at 7 Carr Field, Portsmouth, Todmorden [1904].
On 28th May 1904, he married Harriet Alice Davey [1883-1951] at St Michael & All Angels' Church, Cornholme.
Harriet Alice of 7 Carr Field, Portsmouth, was the daughter of George Jasper Davey, labourer.She was a cotton weaver [1911], a cotton weaver for Crabtree & Farrar at Carrfield Mill [1921]
Children:
The children were born in Todmorden.
The Todmorden & District News [3rd February 1911] reported
Albert J. Norton of Cornholme, aged 26, labourer at Wilson Brothers, on trial, accused of deserting his wife and family.His wife was heavily pregnant with their third child when he left the district in June 1908 for training in the Militia. He was due back after a month but did not return. He sent his wife one sovereign.
He finally returned to Cornholme this week, and claimed he'd been travelling, looking for work. He was back with his wife and promised to pay back the poor relief that ratepayers had given to support his family in his absence at a rate of 2s a week.
The Bench said they would see how things were in a month's time and the case was adjourned
The Todmorden & District News [3rd March 1911] reported
Albert J. Norton of Cornholme, sentenced to two months' hard labour for failing to support his wife and three children or pay back maintenance arrears.He had been living with his wife since his return but she had been supporting the family, working as a weaver.
Later in 1911, he is recorded as a prisoner at HM Prison, Love Lane, Wakefield
The family lived at
During World War I, he enlisted in Burnley and served as a Private with the 9th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.
A letter from Private Albert J. Norton, East Lancashire Regiment, currently in Salonica, was printed in the Todmorden & District News [11th February 1916].
He was killed in action at Salonika [13th December 1916] (aged 33).
The Todmorden & District News [30th March 1917]
Private Albert James Norton of 9 Carr Field, Portsmouth, was reported missing some time ago.The Red Cross inquiry department sent statements from his comrades to his wife.
Sergeant Jones wrote that, on December 13th, they were holding trenches near the village of Smol. Between the trenches and the village were some fields full of vegetables.
Norton and fifteen others volunteered to go and bring in some vegetables. They proceeded to do so and also went into the village in search of poultry etc. Norton and two others approached an orchard at the centre of the village where they were ambushed by Bulgars. The other two were killed and Norton was assumed to have been captured as his body was not found
The Todmorden & District News [29th March 1918] reported
Private A. J. Norton, reported missing in Salonica on December 13th 1916, now assumed to have died.He was married with four children and lived at Shed Street, Portsmouth
The Todmorden & District News [29th March 1918] published an In Memoriam
In loving memory of my dear husband, Pte. Albert J. Norton, East Lancs Regt., missing December 13th, 1916, now presumed killed.From his loving Wife and Children 9 Carrfield, Portsmouth, Todmorden
The Todmorden & District News [5th April 1918] published his photograph
He is remembered on the Doiran Memorial, Greece, in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, and on Cornholme War Memorial
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Derrick Habergham
Norton, Charles | Ref N390 |
Born in Mirfield.
He was a cotton warp beamer [1861, 1871].
On 17th November 1836, he married (1) Susannah Ward [1808-1870].
Susannah was born in Batley
Children:
Susannah died 7th February 1870 (aged 62).
He (possibly) married (2) Ann [1834-1884].
They lived at
Charles died 1st April 1876 (aged 68).
Ann died 28th March 1884 (aged 50).
Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-B26]
Norton, E. H. P. | Ref N232 |
Norton, Gilbert Paul | Ref N453 |
In [Q3] 1908, he married either Daisy Naylor or Elsie Townsend in Huddersfield.
They lived at Carlisle [1962].
He died in 1962.
Probate records show that he left effects valued at £351,113.
He left £100 to the 5th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) Old Comrades Association and £1000 to the Huddersfield Hospital Management Committee
Norton, Henry | Ref N317 |
Norton House, Elland | Ref N347 |
Owners and tenants have included
Norton, Joseph | Ref N797 |
He lived at 10 Church Street, Halifax.
He died 12th June 1879 (aged 49).
He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: M 10 D]
Norton Lodge, Warley | Ref N525 |
Owners and tenants have included
This & associated entries use material contributed by June Illingworth
Norton, Samuel | Ref N36 |
He married Grace [1829-1897].
Grace was born 21st September 1829
Children:
They lived at Well Ing Cottage, Stainland [1877].
Samuel died 11th September 1877 (aged 49).
Grace died 1st March 1897 (aged 68).
The couple were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [Grave Ref: S3/154] with granddaughter [?] Sarah Phoebe, [1875-15th June 1947] daughter of Paul & Mary Jane Morton,
Norton Tower | Ref N37 |
Norton Tower House | Ref N76 |
Recorded in 1877, when the Halifax Courier [Saturday 18th August 1877] advertised
Sale by Private ContractThe desirable residence called Norton Tower with seven bedrooms, from which is one of the finest views of Halifax and is bordered by a plantation of thriving finest trees.
Lodge residence for servant men.
Gas laid on.
Further particulars from the office, Old Lane Dyeworks, Halifax – Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays between the hours of eleven and one
Demolished on 31st May 1969
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Norton, Walter Bridges | Ref N781 |
He was a practical brewer [1901].
In 1881, he (possibly) married Sarah Marie Willmer [1861-19??] from Huntingdon, in Huntingdon.
Children:
They lived at 7 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1901]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Norton, William | Ref N332 |
He was a police sergeant in Sowerby Bridge [1891] / a police pensioner [1901].
He married Martha [1860-1???].
Martha was born in Newark
Children:
The family lived at
Norvell & Mitchell | Ref N88 |
Norvell, Charles J. | Ref N686 |
Norvell's: Charles J. Norvell & Son | Ref N582 |
They were at Lister Lane [1924, 1936] and West Croft Joinery Works, Halifax [1936]
Norwood Green | Ref N39 |
Norwood Green Coal Company Limited | Ref N482 |
Norwood Green: Coal Mining | Ref N734 |
Norwood Green Congregational Institute | Ref N566 |
See Norwood Green Congregational Church and Norwood Green Congregational Institute Memorial
Norwood Green Conservative Club | Ref N534 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Alan Longbottom
Norwood Green Co-operative Store | Ref N491 |
The shop is now a private house
This & associated entries use material contributed by Malcolm Terry
Norwood Green Parish Council | Ref N654 |
Norwood Green Village Hall | Ref N581 |
Norwood House Lodge, Shelf | Ref N199 |
Dated
COELI CERTA MERCES AD 1855The reward of heaven is certain AD 1855
The Lodge was restored around 2000
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jenny May & Ben Stables
Norwood House, Shelf | Ref N540 |
Norwood, Thomas Edwin | Ref N394 |
Born in Dewsbury.
He was a railway clerk (Midland Railway) [1911]
In [Q2] 1915, he married Alma Holmes [1889-1973] in Halifax.
Children:
Thomas Edwin died 10th January 1964 (aged 76).
Alma died 26th December 1973 (aged 84)
Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B46]
Norwood, Thomas Henry | Ref N403 |
He was a railway agent (Midland Railway) [1911].
In [Q1] 1882, he married Emma Clark [1860-1908] in Bramley.
Children:
They lived at 9 Osborne Grove, Lightcliffe [1911].
Nothard, Samuel | Ref N659 |
He worked as a scavenger for Todmorden UDC.
In 1891, he married Priscilla Furniss at Todmorden.
Children: several.
On 8th September 1895, he found a stray mastiff dog. The dog's muzzle was hanging loose and as Samuel tried to fix the muzzle, the dog bit him on the thumb. The dog was taken to Vale Street Police Station where it showed signs of rabies and was shot.
On 15th September 1895, the UDC sent Samuel to the Pasteur Institute in Paris, accompanied by Spencer, the son of Dr C. W. Thorp.
He returned to Todmorden on the 5th October, and was considered to have recovered. He went back to work on the 7th October, but, a week later, he complained of pains in his left arm and exhibited signs of madness.
He died on 17th October 1895.
The Nothard Relief Fund collected £75 1/- from which 15/- per week was paid to Mrs Nothard
This & associated entries use material contributed by Martin Nuttall
Nott, Nancy | Ref N139 |
Novello, Ivor | Ref N160 |
He had a love affair with Tommy Marchetti.
Whilst staying with Marchetti at Howroyd Hall towards the end of World War II, Novello was inspired to write the book, lyrics and music for the musical Perchance to Dream including the hit song We'll Gather Lilacs. When the musical opened at London's Hippodrome Theatre [21st April 1945], the design for the stage set was based upon the sitting room at Howroyd Hall
This & associated entries use material contributed by Anne Kirker
November Fair | Ref N40 |
Nowell, John | Ref N102 |
Nowell, Rev John David | Ref N632 |
This & associated entries use material contributed by Janis King
Nowell, John William | Ref N323 |
He was a carter [1901] / a labourer with H. Sagar Limited at Mill House, Triangle [1921].
In [Q1] 1918, he married Sarah Jane Binns [1881-1952] in Halifax.
Sarah Jane was born in Norland
Child: Eveline [b Norland 1921]
They lived at
John William died 10th March 1932 (aged 58)
Sarah Jane died 3rd March 1952 (aged 71).
The couple were buried at Mount Zion Primitive Methodist Chapel, Norland
Nowell, Joseph Thomas | Ref N643 |
He was educated at Farrar's Classical Academy, Halifax [1881].
In [Q3] 1892, he married Annie Eliza Horsfall in Halifax.
Annie Eliza was the daughter of William Horsfall
The couple died in Halifax
This & associated entries use material contributed by Hayley Taylor
Nowell Memorial | Ref N664 |
The Scottish red-granite obelisk stands 13 ft in height, and was executed by A. Macdonald of Aberdeen.
The base is inscribed
In memory of John Nowell, a working man, and vice-president of the Todmorden Botanical Society for fifteen years. His unassuming manners, kind disposition, as well as his extensive knowledge of cryptogamic botany, endeared him to a wide circle of admiring friends.Died October 28th, 1887, and was interred at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.
Erected by the members and friends of the Todmorden Botanical Society
The Memorial Committee involved in the project include
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nowell, Miss | Ref N595 |
On 30th September 1847, she was taking her father's meal to Waterstalls Mill, Todmorden. As she was walking up the hill, a grind-stone rolled down the hill and struck her on the head and laid open her skull. Newspapers reported that she was in a precarious state and that the stone
had been rolled down the hill wilfully by some person or persons who have hitherto escaped detection
Nowell, Thomas | Ref N642 |
He married Sarah.
They lived at
Nowell, Walter | Ref N278 |
He was innkeeper at an unidentified pub at 111 King Cross Road, Halifax – (possibly) the Prince of Wales Feathers, Halifax [1911] / landlord of the George, Brighouse [1917].
In [Q3] 1893, he married (1) Annie Sheard in Halifax.
Annie was the daughter of Jonathan Sheard
Children:
Annie died (possibly of perinatal complications) [13th April 1897] (aged 23), and was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 1842], with her parents.
In [Q1] 1908, Walter married (2) Ruth Ann Savage [1870-19??] in Halifax.
Ruth Ann was born in Halifax.She had a daughter: Ethel Hanson [b 1891] who was a carpet sewer [1911]
Walter died 29th November 1919 (aged 53).
Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 519]
Nowell, William | Ref N118 |
Between 1914 and 1917, he wrote a number of papers for the Imperial Department of Agriculture for the West Indies, including
Cotton Cultivation in the West Indies Diseases of Lime Trees in Forest Districts Internal Disease of Cotton Bolls The Fungi of Internal Boll Disease Rosellinia Root Diseases in the Lesser Antilles
Nowell, William | Ref N448 |
He was a labourer of Stone Slack, Heptonstall [1839].
On 16th April 1839, he married Mary Redman.
Child: Sarah [b 1840]
They lived at Sunny Bank, Wadsworth (with Mary's parents) [1841, 1851]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Jeffrey Knowles
Nowell, Dr William | Ref N399 |
Born in Dewsbury [19th December 1824].
He was Medical Officer for Southowram and part of Northowram [1865] / surgeon to the Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Society [1865].
In [Q4] 1849, he married Louisa Armytage [1829-1876] in Halifax.
Louisa was born in Clifton [19th August 1829]
Children:
They lived at
Louisa died 26th June 1876.
William died 9th October 1890.
They were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-S30].
See John Briggs
Nowell, William | Ref N641 |
Born [10th June 1840].
He was a mechanic [1860].
In 1864, he married Hannah Parkinson.
Hannah was the daughter of Joseph Parkinson
Children:
They lived at
William died of pneumonia [7th October 1889].
Hannah died 21st October 1913 (aged 75).
Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot 969]
Nu-Swift Fire Extinguishers | Ref N41 |
Nu Swift Industries was registered as a private company in 1959, and converted to a public company in 1960. Subsidiary companies include BWH Engineers Limited, Harland Manufacturing Company Limited and Nu-Swift International
In 1983, the company merged with the French firm Sicli. Sicli had previously tried to enter the retail and wholesale fire extinguisher market, but with little success. After merging with Nu-Swift they replaced some of the Nu-Swift water, foam, powder & halon extinguishers with rebranded Sicli models.
The Elland factory closed in 1986 when production moved to the company's French factory. The Elland factory on Wistons Lane reopened in 1990.
Blakeborough's original 1926 design for the fire extinguisher remained in production – with only minor modifications in size and the contents used – until the early 1990s when vapourising liquid extinguishers were no longer manufactured due to environmental concerns.
In 2010, there were proposals to build a supermarket on the factory site.
See Robert Grotte
This & associated entries use material contributed by Anthony Buck & Alan Longbottom
Nugent, Charles Evelyn | Ref N282 |
On 14th May 1919, he married Frida Kathleen Whitley from Epsom
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Nugent, Hugh Neville | Ref N303 |
During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 644th Mechanical Transport Company Royal Army Service Corps.
He died 1st July 1919 (aged 37).
He was buried at the Alexandria (Hadra) War Memorial Cemetery [b 147].
He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church, and on the Memorial at Saint George's Church, Sowerby
Nugent, Maud Eileen Kirkpatrick | Ref N281 |
On 9th September 1920, she married Major Alexander Gawthrop Wade MC Chevalier of the Legion of Honour, from Sussex, at St Peter's Church, Sowerby
Nugent, Nicholas | Ref N275 |
Born in Antigua, West Indies [18th October 1845].
He was a clerk to woollen manufacturer [1881] / an assistant secretary to woollen manufacturer [1891] / Managing Director of Edwards & Rawson [1901, 1911].
In July 1879, he married Caroline Adelaide Perry [1856-1934] in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire.
Caroline Adelaide was born in Ballymoney, Ireland
Children:
They lived at
Nicholas died at White Windows [26th December 1923].
Probate records show that he left effects valued at £6,615 5/-.
Probate was granted to son Walter Vyvyan, Archibald Nadault Brushfield, and George Reginald Stansfield.
Members of the family were buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Nugent, Olive Mary | Ref N180 |
Born 16th June 1912.
In 1937, her engagement was announced to Raymond Bensley Jackson of Malaya.
In 1939, she married Alan Edward Pease.
She lived at 44A Lower Mill Bank Road, Sowerby Bridge [1981].
She died 19th June 1981 Probate records show that she left effects valued at £8,400.
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Nugent, Sir Oliver | Ref N280 |
He was President of the Legislative Council of Antigua.
He married Lucretia Louisa Ottley [1826-1894].
Children:
Lucretia Louisa died 30th May 1894 (aged 67).
Oliver died 28th August 1894 (aged 79).
The couple were buried at St Georges Anglican Church, Antigua
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Nugent, Oliver | Ref N283 |
On 17th October 1876, he married Eliza Mary Monica Peter from Cornwall.
He died at Antigua
Nugent, Richard | Ref N121 |
He was educated at St Mary's Catholic School / employed by Joseph Morton Limited / a Territorial.
He had a sweetheart, Miss Phyllis Hartley of King Cross, Halifax.
During World War II, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders.
He died 6th April 1943 (aged 21).
He was buried at Sfax War Cemetery, Tunisia [Grave Ref II A 12].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
Nugent, Walter Vyvian | Ref N177 |
Or Walter Vyvyan.
Eldest son of Nicholas Nugent.
Born 3rd December 1880.
He was a Lieutenant-Colonel and served in the Royal Artillery in Malta, China and Ceylon.
In 1912/1913, he was in Nigeria. During World War I, he gained the DSO and bar.
He was Head of Military Intelligence in Cairo during the Palestine campaign [1916-1917].
He was an instructor at the Staff College, Camberley.
On 3rd August 1911, he married Dorothy Florence Rawson at St Peter's Church, Sowerby.
Children:
They lived at Bullace Trees, Triangle.
Walter Vyvyan died 14th September 1963.
Dorothy Florence died 11th July 1993 (aged 100).
The couple were buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham, William Lloyd & Michael Rawson
Number 4 Money Club | Ref N1000 |
Nun Brook, Kirklees Park | Ref N431 |
The flow of the water has been erratic in recent years, possibly due to a gold-course upstream taking water from the brook.
In 1790, a 72-ft long iron bridge was built over the brook.
In 1848-49, Charlotte Brontë stayed at Kirklees Hall and used the Hall as a model for Nunwood in Shirley, and the name Nunnely was used for Hartshead.
Nunco, Benjamin | Ref N43 |
Nunn, Halstead | Ref N826 |
Born in Brighouse.
He was a worsted spinning doffer [1911] / a member of Boothtown United Methodist Free Chapel & School / a member of the Clarion Cycling Club / a Saturday reporter on local cricket and football for the Halifax Courier / an assistant drawing room overlooker with W. H. Spencer & Sons.
He lived at 11 Martin Street, Boothtown.
During World War I, he enlisted [29th August 1914] and served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He went to the Front on 14th April 1915.
On 13th July 1915, he was carrying water for the company from a neighbouring farm when he was shot in the stomach – probably by a stray bullet.
He died from his wounds [15th July 1915].
The Halifax Courier [24th July 1915] reported his death with a photograph.
He was buried at Bard Cottage Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref I C 3].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nunn, William | Ref N825 |
Born in Cambridgeshire.
He was an overlooker of Boothtown [1894] / a worsted spinning overlooker [1901, 1911]
In 1894, he married Sarah Ann Halstead [1866-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.
Sarah Ann, of Lee Mount, Ovenden, was the daughter of William Halstead (deceased), dyer
Children:
They lived at
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nunnery Farm, Rastrick | Ref N226 |
The Nunnery, Wainstalls | Ref N649 |
The name was given to the property ironically, as the ladies who lived here in the 19th century were not nuns!
This & associated entries use material contributed by Michael Steele
Nunns, Frederick | Ref N763 |
In 1861, he married Caroline Culpin [1841-1903] in Halifax.
Child: Louise
Frederick died in 1921.
Louise took over at the Flying Horse [1921, 1923]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Glynn Helliwell
Nuns' Grave, Kirklees Nunnery | Ref N42 |
The grave was discovered in 1745. The surrounding railings carry the inscription:
Douce Thesus de Nazaret fites mercy a Elizabeth de Staynton jadi Priores de cest maison
The restored grave carries a translation:
To Elizabeth de Stainton: late: Priores: of this: Hous: Sweet: Jesus: of: Nazareth: Grant: mercy: Sweet Jesus of Nazareth, grant mercy to Elizabeth de Staynton, late prioress of this house
Nursery Lane Economic Stores | Ref N625 |
Nursery Lane Post Office, Ovenden | Ref N7400 |
Nussey, Arthur | Ref N9240 |
Born in Norland.
He was a general labourer [1891] / a railway platelayer [1901].
In [Q2] 1894, he married Mary Ann Bottomley [1866-1906] in Halifax.
Children:
They lived at Prospect Terrace, Norland [1901].
In 1906, members of the family died in quick succession, victims of diphtheria: his wife Mary Ann [6th October 1906]; daughter Ivy [8th October 1906]; son Fred died whilst being taken to hospital [10th October 1906].
They were buried at St Luke's Church, Norland: Mary Ann [9th October 1906]; Ivy [9th October 1906]; Fred [13th October 1906].
Arthur never remarried and lived with his sister Harriet Ann and her family for the rest of his life.
He was buried at St Luke's Church, Norland [22nd February 1940]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Derrick Habergham
Nussey, Jim | Ref N8720 |
He was a cordwainer [1861] / a boot & shoe maker [1871, 1881].
On 1st October 1852, he married (1) Sarah Booth [1830-1858] at St James's Church, Tong.
He married (2) Rachel Greenwood [1832-1904]
Rachel was born in Warley
Children:
They lived at
Members of the family were buried at St Luke's Church, Norland: Jim [10th June 1885]; Rachel [10th May 1904]; Arthur [22nd February 1940]
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley & Derrick Habergham
NuSwift Fire Extinguishers | Ref N195 |
Nutclough Estate, Hebden Bridge | Ref N83 |
A group of 15 houses and buildings – including Nutclough Mill. The houses are linked by a walkway to the mill.
In 1967, the Nutclough Works were closed and the business moved to Hebden Works, Hangingroyd.
In 1978, there were plans for the Northern Mill Engine Society to use the site as an industrial museum, but this fell through and in the 1980s it was converted to offices and craft units.
In 1979, the council proposed to demolish the houses and clear the site. The Hebden Bridge Conservation Group campaigned for the houses to be retained and took their case to the High Court. The court ruled that – because of their link to the mill – the houses must be preserved if the mill was to be preserved, and granted an injunction of the behalf of the conservation group – with costs of £3000. In August 1982, the council appealed, but the court again ruled in favour of the conservation group, and refused the council further leave to appeal – with costs of £12,000.
See Hebden Bridge Fustian Manufacturing Co-operative Society
Nutclough Fustian Manufacturing Society, Hebden Bridge | Ref N495 |
Nutclough, Hebden Bridge | Ref N733 |
Nutclough Woods, Hebden Bridge | Ref N579 |
Nuttall ... | Ref N264 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nuttall & Crossley | Ref N577 |
In January 1860, the partnership was declared bankrupt
Nuttall & Dewhirst | Ref N475 |
They had business at Wadsworth Mill.
James Nuttall ran Ferney Mill, Todmorden with William Dewhirst, and then he went solo
This & associated entries use material contributed by Linda Briggs
Nuttall Brothers Limited | Ref N468 |
They were at
Partners included Lawrence Nuttall
Nutter ... | Ref N20 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nutter's: Joseph Nutter's Scholarships | Ref N246 |
Nutting, George Arthur | Ref N122 |
He was a labourer of Foundry Street, Halifax [1901] / a dyer's labourer [1911].
On 22nd September 1901, he married Hannah Smith [1879-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.
Hannah, of Park Street, Halifax, was born in Ovenden, the daughter of Harry Smith, labourer.She was a worsted twister [1911]
Children:
They lived at
During World War I, he enlisted [August 1914] and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).
He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Hill 60 [18th April 1915] (aged 25).
He was buried at Oosttaverne Wood Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V G 1].
He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance
This & associated entries use material contributed by Mark Harrey
Nutting, James Harry | Ref N327 |
Born in Aston, Hertfordshire.
He was a railway lampman of 4 Clarence Street, Halifax [1889] / a railway lampman [1891] / a platelayer [1911].
In 1889, he married Fanny Haigh [1866-1922] at St George's Church, Lee Mount.
Fanny, of 11 Fairfield Terrace, was born in Newlay, Yorkshire, the daughter of William Haigh, dyer's presser
They lived at
This & associated entries use material contributed by Roger Beasley
Nutting, James William | Ref N328 |
Born in Halifax.
He was a mechanic turner apprentice [1911] / an ambulance student.
During World War I, he served as a Private with the Royal Army Medical Corps.
He was one of the first members of the Halifax Ambulance Brigade to go to France.
He was awarded the DCM
for gallant conduct in the field in going to the assistance of wounded under heavy shellfire without a moment's hesitation at Vlamerhinghe, Nov. 27, 1915
His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [24th June 1916].
He survived the War.
He died in Halifax [Q3 1955]
Nutton ... | Ref N364 |
The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.
Nutton's: James Nutton & Company | Ref N314 |
Partners included James Nutton, Benjamin Fielding, Joseph Halliday, and Jonathan Horsfall.
The partnership was dissolved [January 1863], so far as regards J. Horsfall and J. Halliday – see Horsfall & Halliday.
The partnership was dissolved [August 1869] and Fielding continued the business on his own account
This & associated entries use material contributed by Derrick Habergham
Nyberg, Rev Laurentius | Ref N382 |
He became a Moravian Minister in Yorkshire.
He wrote a number of hymns which were translated by La Trobe.
Nye, Rev John S. | Ref N426 |
Nye's: Thomas Nye & Company Limited | Ref N487 |
Page Ref: N
|
||
site search by freefind |